UNITED NATIONS SECURITY COUNCIL RESOLUTIONS RELATING TO THE CRISIS IN THE PERSIAN GULF

THE RESOLUTIONS

Between 2 August 1990, the date of the invasion of Kuwait by Iraq, and 29 October 1990, the Security Council adopted ten resolutions relating to the crisis in the Gulf, beginning with resolution 660. The full text of these ten resolutions is reproduced on the following pages.

THE COUNCIL

The United Nations Security Council is composed of 15 members. Five are permanent: China, France, Soviet Union, United Kingdom, United States. The ten non-permanent members are elected by the General Assembly to serve two-year terms. At the time these resolutions were adopted, the non-permanent members of the Security Council were: Canada, Colombia, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Ethiopia, Finland, Malaysia, Romania, Yemen, Zaire.

RESOLUTION 660 2 August 1990

Relating, inter alia, to the Council's condemnation of the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait. Adopted by a vote of 14 in favour and 0 against. One member, Yemen, did not participate in the vote.

Sponsors: Canada, Colombia, Côte d'Ivoire, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Malaysia, United Kingdom, United States.

RESOLUTION 661 6 August 1990

Relating, inter alia, to the imposition of mandatory sanctions and to the establishment of a Committee to undertake certain tasks regarding the implementation of the resolution. Adopted by a vote of 13 in favour, 0 against and 2 abstentions (Cuba and Yemen). Sponsors: Canada, Colombia, Côte d'Ivoire, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Malaysia, United Kinadom, United States, Zaire.

RESOLUTION 662 9 August 1990

Relating, inter alia, to the non-validity of the Iraqi annexation of Kuwait. Adopted by unanimous vote. Prepared in the course of the Council's consultations.

RESOLUTION 664 18 August 1990

Relating, inter alia, to the nationals of third countries in Iraq and Kuwait and to diplomatic and consular missions in Kuwait.

Adopted by unanimous vote. Prepared in the course of the Council's consultations.