V

DEPENDENT TERRITORIES

Introduction

Dependent territories are of two types: non self-governing territories, and trust territories. There are more than 60 non-self-governing territories, and they are the subject of a declaration in Chapter XI (Article 73) of the Charter. Under this declaration, the member states administering the non-self-governing territories recognize that the interests of the inhabitants of the territories are paramount and accept "as a sacred trust" the obligation to promote their well-being. The administering states also ensure the economic and political advancement of the inhabitants, and guarantee just treatment and protection against abuses; they pledge to develop self-government and agree to transmit technical information on economic, social and educational conditions in the territories to the Secretary-General, "subject to such limitation as security and constitutional considerations may require". Chapter XI of the Charter did not establish a special body to deal with this incoming information, but the General Assembly has appointed a Committee on Information from Non-self-governing Territories which analyzes the information submitted and makes suggestions for improvements. Article 73 (e) of the Charter's Chapter XI which defines the obligation to transmit this information to the Secretary-General, does not mention any requirement to submit information on "political conditions" in the non-self-governing territories.

The 11 trust territories, some of them former mandated territories under the League of Nations, were placed by individual trusteeship agreements, under the Trusteeship Council which was established under Chapter XII of the Charter. The General Assembly approves the terms of the agreements between the United Nations and the individual administering powers, while the Trusteeship Council supervises the administration of these agreements. The functions of the Trusteeship Council include considering the reports of the administering authorities; examining petitions from the inhabitants of the trust territories; sending periodic visiting missions to the territories; and preparing questionnaires to guide the administering authorities in making their reports.

The General Assembly, in order to exercise its authority under the Charter, established the Fourth (Trusteeship) Committee which considers questions relating to both types of dependent territories: it deals with the report of the Trusteeship Council and other items relating to trust territories, and it also deals with any questions concerning the administration of nonself-governing territories. There is a conflict of views in the Committee on Information from Non-self-governing Territories, in the Trusteeship Council, in the Fourth Committee and in the General Assembly, between the administering states and the non-administering states, many of which have memories of being dependent territories themselves. The administering states believe they are fulfilling their obligations under Chapters XI, XII and XIII of the Charter in the way best suited to present conditions in the dependent territories; the non-administering states are anxious to hasten the achievement of independence of these territories and are critical not only of the rate of advance towards self-government and independence, but also, at times, of the sincerity of the administering powers in working towards those goals. The non-administering states have tended to emphasize the supremacy of the