## RUPERT'S LAND.

- 1669. Early settlements confined to the shores of James' Bay, and the mouths of Churchill and Hayes Rivers.
- 1697. Treaty of Ryswick. Cedes to France the possessions actually held at the commencement of the war.

Under this Treaty the Company contend ineffectually for a boundary restricting the French to the south of Albany and Rupert's Rivers.

1714. The Treaty of Utrecht cedes Hudson's Bay, &c. to the crown of Great Britain.

Boundary of Hudson's Bay according to French maps of 1720, 1739, and 1771, shewn on map.

1763. Boundary of "La Nouvelle France," or Canada, at the time of the cession according to British geographers.

French Posts in the Interior at the date of the Cession:—

- 1. Camenistoguoia, on the river now of that name.
- 2. Fort St. Pierre. Lac des Pluies.
- 3. St. Charles. Lac des Bois.
- 4. Maurepas Lac Quinpègon.
- 5. Fort La Reine. Riviere Assiniboels.
- 6. Fort on Riviere Rouge.
- 7. Fort Dauphin. Lac des Prairies.
- 8. Fort Bourbon on Lac Bourbon; and,
- 9. Fort Poscoyac on the Saskatchewan.