The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Lundrigan) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Aiken Alexander Alkenbrack Asselin Bell Bigg Coates Crouse Danforth Dinsdale Fairweather Forrestall Grills Hales Harkness Lambert (Edmonton West.) La Salle

Lundrigan MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) MacLean Macquarrie MacRae McCleave

McGrath McIntosh McKinley Marshall Mazankowski Monteith Moore Muir (Lisgar) Nesbitt Noble Paproski Peddle Ricard Ritchie Schumacher Scott Simpson Southam Stanfield

Stewart (Marquette) Thompson (Red Deer) Valade Woolliams Yewchuk-47.

NAVS

Messrs:

Foster

Gauthier

Allmand Anderson Badanai Barnett Beaudoin Béchard Beer Benjamin Benson Blair Blouin Brewin Brown Buchanan Burton Caccia Cadieux (Labelle) Cafik Cantin Caouette Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Comtois Corbin Côté (Richelieu) Crossman Cvr Danson Deachman Deakon Dionne Douglas (Assiniboia)

Drury Duquet Émard Forest Fortin

Gendron Gervais Gibson Givens Gleave Godin Grav Greene Groos Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Harding Hogarth Honey Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Hymmen Isabelle Kaplan Kierans Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Lachance Lambert (Bellechasse) Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Langlois Laniel Laprise Latulippe Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski)

Lefebvre

Division

Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Lewis Lind Loiselle Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen MacGuigan MacInnis (Mrs.)

(Vancouver-Kingsway) Mackasey McBride McNulty Mahoney Major Marceau Marchand (Langelier)

Mather Matte Morison Munro Noel Nystrom O'Connell Olson Orange Orlikow Osler Penner Pepin Perrault Peters Pilon Portelance Reid Richardson Roberts Robinson Rochon Rondeau Rowland Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Saltsman Sharp Skoberg Smerchanski

Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi) Smith (Saint-Jean) Stafford Stewart (Cochrane) St. Pierre Sulatycky Sullivan Thomas (Maisonneuve) Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley) Tolmie Trudeau

Trudel Turner (London East) Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Walker Watson Whelan Whiting Winch Yanakis-142.

Prud'homme • (5:20 p.m.)

Pringle

Mr. Macdonald (Rosedale): On a point of order, Mr. Speaker. There have been some discussions concerning the particular committee to which this bill should be sent. I think there might be agreement to an amendment deleting the reference to the Standing Committee on Finance, Trade and Economic Affairs and substituting therefor the Standing Committee on Health, Welfare and Social Affairs. In these circumstances I should like to propose, seconded by my colleague the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources (Mr. Greene):

That all the words after "referred" be deleted and the following substituted therefor: "to the Standing Committee on Health, Welfare and Social Affairs.

Motion agreed to.

Mr. Pepin moved:

That Bill C-163 to provide for the establishment of a Standards Council of Canada be read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Health, Welfare and Social Affairs.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: On division.