## **ARTICLE 3**

## **Taxes Covered**

- 1. The taxes covered by this Agreement are:
  - (a) in Canada, all taxes imposed or administered by the Government of Canada;
  - (b) in Uruguay, all taxes imposed or administered by the Government of Uruguay.
- 2. This Agreement shall also apply to any identical or substantially similar taxes imposed after the date of signature of this Agreement in addition to, or in place of, the existing taxes.
- 3. The Agreement shall also apply to other taxes as may be agreed in an exchange of letters between the Contracting Parties.
- 4. The competent authorities of the Contracting Parties shall notify each other of any substantial changes to the taxation and related information gathering measures covered by this Agreement.

## **ARTICLE 4**

## **Definitions**

- 1. For the purposes of this Agreement, unless otherwise defined:
  - (a) the term "Canada", used in a geographical sense, means:
    - the land territory, internal waters and territorial sea, including the air space above these areas, of Canada;
    - (ii) the exclusive economic zone of Canada, as determined by its domestic law, consistent with Part V of the *United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea*, done at Montego Bay on 10 December 1982 (UNCLOS); and
    - the continental shelf of Canada, as determined by its domestic law, consistent with Part VI of UNCLOS;
  - (b) the term "Uruguay" means the territory of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, and when used in a geographical sense means the territory on which the tax laws are applied, including the maritime area under Uruguayan sovereign rights or jurisdiction in accordance with international and national law;