recommendation of past years, that the Foreign Mission of the Church be made at least monthly, the subject of prayer and exhortation at the public prayer meeting."

The Rev. Robt. J. Cameron, Convener, submitted an additional report from the Committee appointed to consult with a similar Committee of the P. C. L. P. with reference to the future organization of Presbyteries and Synods.

In the Basement of Knox Church, Montreal, and at 74 o'clock, p. m., June 11th, 1875.

The joint Committee of the Synod of the Maritime Provinces, and of the Synod of the Lower Provinces on the reconstructions of Synods and Presbyteries, convened, by leave of their respective Synods.

Dr. Waters was called to the chair, and opened with prayer. Present with the Chairman, Messrs. D. McRae, J. Fowler, J. McLeod, R. J. Cameron, G. Patterson, M. Stewart, G. M. Grant, J. M. Sutherland, J. McMillan, A. McLean, T. Sedgwick, Dr. Waddell and P. M. Morrison.

Mr. Morrison was appointed Clerk.

The minutes of a former meeting, containing the following resolution as the principal item of business, viz., " That in the opinion of this Committee, it would not be advisable to divide the Lower Provinces into more than one synodical district; and that it be a recommendation to both Synods that, in the meantime, there should be constituted only one Synod in the sea Provinces," were read and confirmed.

It was agreed that it be recommended to call the proposed new Synod, "The Synod of the Maritime Provinces."

Committee then took up the subject of the distribution of Presbyteries ; when, after full deliberation, it was resolved to recommend the following names and boundaries :-

1. Sydney, to be the same as the present Presbytery of Cape Breton, name only changed.

2. Victoria and Richmond, bounded as the present one of that name.

3. Pictou, to include the congregations in the Counties of Antigonish, Guysboro, and Pictou, except those of River John and West Branch, River John.

4. Wallace, to include the congregations in River John, West Branch River John, Earltown, Tatamagouche, Wallace, Pugwash, Goose River, Amherst, and Spring Hill.

5. Truro, bounded as the Present Presbytery of Truro.

6. Halifax, bounded as the Present Presbytery of Halifax of P. C. L. P., except Newfoundland.,

7. Lunenburg and Yarmouth, bounded as present Presbytery of that name. 8. St. John, to be located in western part of N. B, with eastern boundary, the same as that of Present Presbytery of St. John.

9. Miramichi, to include present Presbytery of Mirimichi and Restigouche.

10. Prince Edward's Island, to cover Province of that name.

11. Newfoundland, to include the Province of Newfoundland.

It was further resolved, that it shall be a recommendation of this Committee, that the General Assembly be asked to summon the Synod to meet in this city, before the rising of the Assembly, in order that it may fix the time and place of the meeting of the several Presbyteries under its jurisdiction, and appoint their first Moderators. Closed with prayer.

## P. M. MORRISON, Clerk.

Anent which it was agreed that the additional report of the Committee be received, (1) approve of the suggestions which has been made as to the boundaries of the future Presbyteries of the united Synod of the Lower Provinces, and (2) of the suggestion that the name of the Synod be "the Synod of the Maritime Provinces," an i further that a deputation wait upon the Court of the corresponding Church to inform them of our deliverance on these points, the Committee to be the said deputation.