Sth. Annapolis County is divided into two districts, and contains six townships—Wilmot, Granville, Annapolis, Clements, Digby, Clare.

9th. Shelburne is divided into two districts, and contains four townships—Yarmouth, Argyle, Barrington, Shelburne.

10th. Cape-Breton is divided into three districts, and contains seven townships—Sydney, St. Andrew, St. Patrick, Canseau, Port Hood, Ainslie and Margaree.

## CHAPTER II.

## Section 1.--HALIFAX DIVISION.

The Halifax division comprises only a part of the County of that name, and contains four townships-Halifax, Dartmouth, Preston, and Lawrence Town. The harbour of Halifax is one of the finest in Ameri-A thousand vessels may ride in it in safety. It ca. is accessible at all seasons of the year, and is to be prized for the facility of its\_entrance, general situation, and proximity to the Bay of Fundy, and all the interior settlements of the Province. It is situated in latitude 44° 40" north, and 63° 40" west longitude. It lies nearly north and south, extending about sixteen miles in length, and terminating in a beautiful sheet of water called Bedford Basin, within which are ten square miles of safe anchorage. The entrance is marked by Sambro Island, on which a Light-House was erected soon after the settlement of Halifax by the English. A small party of artillery are stationed here, to correspond with the town by signals, and are furnished with two twenty-four

•