PART T.

THE SENATE.

DURATION OF THE SESSIONS, &c.

1867.

The Parliament of the Dominion of Canada met for the first time at Ottawa, on the 6th Nov., 1867. On that day the Hon. J. E. Cauchon (who was on the 5 Nov. appointed Speaker of the Senate) took and subscribed the oath prescribed by law, and was then conducted to the Chair at the foot of the Throne, where he received the Governor-General: on the 7th, His Excellency delivered the Speech from the Throne; on the 11th, the Hon. G. W. Allan moved, seconded by the Hon. J. McCully, the usual address in reply to the Viceregal speech, which was agreed to on the same day. On the 21st Dec., the Senate adjourned until the 12th March, 1868, when it reassembled and continued to sit until the prorogation on the 22nd May.

1869.

Parliament assembled on the 15th April, when the Speech from the Throne was delivered. On the 16th, the Hon. Dr. Lacoste moved, seconded by the Hon. D. Wark, the address in reply, which was adopted on the same day. Parliament was prorogued on the 22nd June.