DeBlois

Routine Proceedings

behalf of the Liberal Party I simply want to say that we welcome the fact that they are now apprised of this issue.

Mr. de Cotret moved that the bill be read the first time and printed.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those in favour will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Hawkes: Madam Speaker, since a number of members have risen calling for a vote, I wonder if there might be a predisposition in the chamber to not ring the bells but move immediately to the vote so members can go off to committee, we can have an opposition day and so on.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): The House has heard the suggestion made by the hon. member. Is there unanimous consent to dispense with the ringing of the bells?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Anderson

Atkinson

Beatty

Bernier

Bourgault

Brightwell

Cadieux

Casey

Cole

Cook

Côté

Corbeil

Blackburn (Jonquière)

Champagne (Champlain)

Clark (Brandon-Souris)

Crosby (Halifax West)

Blenkarn Bouchard (Roberval)

Bird

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 136)

YEAS

Members Andre

> Attewell Belsher Bertrand Bjornson Blais Bosley Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Boyer Browes Cardiff Chadwick Chartrand Clifford Collins Cooper Corbett Couture Darling

Desjardins Domm Epp Ferland Friesen Gibeau Greene Guilbault Halliday Hawkes Hockin Holtmann James Kempling Koury Langlois Layton Lewis Loiselle MacDougall (Timiskaming) Marin Mayer McDougall (St. Paul's) Monteith Nicholson Oberle Plourde Pronovost Ricard Roy-Arcelin Schneider Shields Soheski Sparrow Tardif Thompson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Halton-Peel) Van de Walle Vézina Vincent Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Assiniboia) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)

de Cotret Dobbie Duplessis Fee Fretz Gérin Gray (Bonaventure - Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Grey (Beaver River) Gustafson Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hicks Hogue Hughes Johnson Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast) Landry Larrivée Leblanc (Longueuil) Littlechild Lopez Malone Martin (Lincoln) McDermid Merrithew Moore Nowlan O'Kurley Porter Redway Richardson St-Julien Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Siddon Soetens Stevenson Thacker Thorkelson Tremblay (Lotbinière) Valcourt Venne Vien White Worthy-125

NAYS

Members

Anawak Angus Arseneault Assad Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Baker Bélair Bellemare Benjamin Black Blackburn (Brant) Blondin Boudria Butland Caccia Callbeck Campbell (South West Nova) Catteral Clancy Comuzzi de Jong Dionne Duhamel Fisher Flis Fulton Gaffney Gagliano Gardiner Gauthier Gray (Windsor West) Harb Harvard Harvey (Edmonton East) Heap Hopkins Hovdebo Jordan Karpoff Karygiannis Keyes Kilger (Stormont-Dundas) Kristiansen Laporte LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) Lee MacDonald (Dartmouth) MacAulay MacLaren MacLellan MacWilliam Maheu Manley Marleau McGuire McLaughlin Mifflin Milliken Mitchell Murphy