Atkinson

Winegard - 107

Government Orders

country. I cannot help but reiterate that quite strongly for we know that today's decisions will shape our future.

Bill C-65 would give the government the authority to borrow up to \$25.5 billion during the 1990-91 fiscal year to cover its budgetary deficit. Certainly this is a political confession of failure of its fiscal and monetary policies.

I would like to draw to your attention, Mr. Speaker, that since the 1988 election the Minister of Finance has relentlessly pursued a brutal and discriminatory high interest rate policy which has resulted in a decrease in housing sales and a decrease in the affordability of homes. It kills businesses and leads to lay-offs and to a decrease in consumer spending. More important, the high interest rate policy will increase the deficit even more. Under the guise of cutting the deficit this government has shown insensitivity to programs for Canadians.

Can we trust the finance minister when he asks us to support his bill on borrowing authority? Of course, we cannot trust this government and the answer has to be a resounding no.

Western Canada's First Ministers have warned the finance minister and the Governor of the Bank of Canada of the ridiculousness with which they try to pursue the high interest rate policy, the real villain today. The Governor of the Bank of Canada remains committed to his policy. We must challenge government to change that policy. It must assume responsibility. The constituents of Winnipeg North demand just that.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. members: Question.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon, members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 256)

YEAS

Members

Attewell

Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)

Belsher Bernier Blackburn (Jonquière) Blais Bouchard (Roberval) Bourgault Brightwell Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Bover Browes Cardiff Champagne (Champlain) Charest Chartrand Collins Cooper Corbeil Corbett Côté Couture Danis Darling DeBlois de Cotret Della Noce Desiardins Dobbie Duplessis Epp Ferland Fontaine Friesen Gérin Guilbault Halliday Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hawkes Hogue Holtmann Horner Horning Hudon Hughes James Jelinek Kempling Koury Landry Langlois Layton Loiselle Larrivée Leblanc (Longueuil) MacDonald (Rosedale) MacKav Marin McCreath Malone Mazankowski McDermid McDougall (St. Paul's) Merrithew Mitges Nicholson Monteith Oberle O'Kurley Plamondon Plourde Porter Reid Richardson Robitaille Roy-Arcelin Saint-Julien Schneider Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Siddon Sparrov Stevenson Tardif Thacker Tremblay (Rosemont) Thorkelson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Halton-Peel) Van de Walle Vankoughnet Venne Vézina Wenman White