Introduction of Bills

Mr. Gauthier: You cannot do that under a point of order.

Mr. Speaker: The Hon. Parliamentary Secretary has moved that the Hon. Member for Mission—Port Moody be now heard.

Mr. Riis: Mr. Speaker, I have a point of order.

Mr. Speaker: The motion is in order.

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Lewis) which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 87)

YEAS

Members

Andre	Crouse	Howie
Attewell	Dantzer	Hudon
Beatty	Darling	Jacques
Belsher	Daubney	James
Bernier	de Cotret	Jardine
Bertrand	Della Noce	Jepson
Binns	Desjardins	Johnson
Blackburn	Desrosiers	(Bonavista—Trinity—
(Jonquière)	Dorin	Conception)
Blais	Duplessis	Kempling
Blais-Grenier	Edwards	King
Blenkarn	Ellis	Landry
Blouin	Fennell	Lawrence
Bouchard	Ferland	Layton
Brightwell	Fontaine	Lesick
Brisco	Fraleigh	Lewis
Browes	Fretz	Lopez
Cadieux	Friesen	Malone
Caldwell	Gagnon	Marin
Cardiff	Gass	Martin
Champagne	Gérin	Masse
(Champlain)	Gervais	Mayer
Clark	Girard	Mazankowski
(Brandon-Souris)	Gormley	McCrossan
Clifford	Gottselig	McDermid
Collins	Graham	McInnes
Comeau	Gray	McKenzie
Cooper	(Bonaventure—Îles-de-	McKinnon
Corbett	la-Madeleine)	Mitges
Côté	Greenaway	Moore
(Lac-Saint-Jean)	Gustafson	Nicholson
Crosby	Hawkes	(Niagara Falls)
(Halifax West)	Horner	Nickerson

Oostrom Tremblay (Hamilton-Wentworth) Peterson (Québec-Est) Scowen Pietz Tupper Plamondon Siddon Turner Porter Sparrow (Ottawa-Carleton) Redway Van De Walle Reid Stackhouse Vankoughnet Reimer Stevens Vincent St. Germain Stewart Weiner Schellenberg Tardif (Nanaimo-Alberni) (Charlesbourg) Winegard-121 Schellenberger Taylor (Wetaskiwin) Thacker Towers

NAYS

Members

Allmand	Henderson	Nystrom
Althouse	Jewett	Ouellet
Angus	Johnston	Parry
Axworthy	(Saint-Henri-	Penner
Benjamin	Westmount)	Prud'homme
Dingwall	Kaplan	Riis
Foster	Killens	Robichaud
Gagliano	Langdon	Robinson
Garneau	Lapierre	Rodriguez
Gauthier	Malépart	Rossi
Gray	McCurdy	Skelly
(Windsor West)	McDonald	Toupin—36
Guilbault	(Broadview—	
(Saint-Jacques)	Greenwood)	
Hean	Musehu	

• (1650)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Riis: Point of order.

Mr. Speaker: Before Hon. Members indicate that they have a point of order, the Chair, if uninterrupted, would read the opening statements for introduction and first reading of the Bill of the Hon. Member for Mission—Port Moody (Mr. St. Germain). It may be that Hon. Members will not need to rise on a point of order. However, I will hear Hon. Members. The Hon. Member for Kamloops—Shuswap (Mr. Riis).

Mr. Riis: Mr. Speaker, I seek clarification because some of the traditional practices and procedures of the House have seemed to many of us to have changed today. My hon. friend and colleague, the Parliamentary Secretary to the Government House Leader, rose this afternoon under "Petitions". One was always under the assumption that at the time when one was speaking to petitions one would have a petition to present. That was the item that was called in terms of doing business. The Speaker recognized a member for the presentation of a motion, with no recognition of a petition and no petition being presented.

For many years, and perhaps decades, this tradition has never been broken. I am seeking your clarification as to whether this practice will now be accepted by you, so that whenever someone rises under a notice of motion, he or she will be recognized and therefore be able to present a motion. If that is the case, I would like to move, seconded by the Hon. Member for Churchill (Mr. Murphy):