New caucus committees set up

Six new caucus committees were set up recently to parallel, in most cases, the Cabinet committees already established by the Prime Minister.

The caucus committees will develop policy recommendations for government policy that will be presented to the corresponding Cabinet committee. The committees and their chairmen are:

- Economic Development Bill Clarke
- Social and Native Affairs Robert Holmes
- . External Affairs and Defence Doug Roche
- Economy in Government Harvie Andre
- . Parliamentary Reform Benno Friesen
- Energy Self-Sufficiency Mike Forrestall

In the case of the last two committees, for which there are no corresponding Cabinet committees, the Parliamentary Reform committee will report to the Government House Leader, Walter Baker, and the Energy Self-Sufficiency Committee will report to the Minister for Energy, Mines and Resources, Ray Hnatyshyn.

Bravery medals awarded

Three Stars of Courage and thirteen Medals of Bravery have been awarded to Canadians for acts of heroism.

Two of the Stars of Courage have been awarded posthumously to Walter Gordon Langdon-Davies of Prince George, British Columbia and to Barbara McCann of Toronto.

Mr. Langdon-Davies died of hydrogen sulphide poisoning while rescuing a coworker who had been overcome by gas at a pulp mill in August, 1977.

Mrs. McCann and her three older sons saved three younger children from a fire which raged out of control in their Toronto home in May, 1978. She remained in the house to guide her five remaining children, who were trapped in the house. All six perished in the fire.

The third recipient of the Star of Courage is John Douglas Cooper, 17, of London, Ontario. In June, 1978, he saved a young women who fell into Lake Erie. Mr. Cooper, a weak swimmer, dove into the water fully dressed, swam out to the girl in the choppy water and rescued her with great difficulty.

The thirteen recipients of the Medal of Bravery are: David Malcolm Bradt of Cameron, Ontario; Stephen John Dainard of Lindsay, Ontario; Thomas Tierney of Brampton, Ontario; Paul John Andrew Worsfold of Burnaby, British Columbia; Clovis Saint-Jacques of Jonquière, Quebec; Delmer Colin Courtoreille of Picture Butte, Alberta; Germain Hainault and Albert Martinet of Melocheville, Quebec; John Blake Mitchell of Oshawa, Ontario; David Benson Sowerby of Goderich, Ontario; Francine Desbiens of Forestville, Quebec and to Denis Victor Tesselaar, 14, and Patrick William Tesselaar, 15, both of Forest, Ontario.

The Governor General will present the awards to the recipients at a ceremony to be held at Rideau Hall.

There are three bravery decorations: the Cross of Valour, the Star of Courage and the Medal of Bravery. Since the awards were first created in 1972, three hundred and seventy-nine persons have received them. Only seven Crosses of Valour have been awarded.

Four conquer Mount Logan

Four Alberta mountain climbers have completed one of the toughest climbs in the world by scaling the southwest face of Canada's highest mountain, Mount Logan, in the Yukon Territory.

Jim Elzinga, member of the first party ever to scale the southwest face of the mountain, said that the climb by his four-man party took 11 days.

"We encountered strong winds, snow and cold," said Mr. Elzinga, a student at Ryerson Polytechnical Institute in Toronto. "The big problem was the high avalanche danger. General climbing conditions were poor. It was snowing all the time we were scaling the face."

The southwest face of Mount Logan measures nearly 3,000 metres.

John Lauchlan led the expedition to Logan, whose main summit is 5,953 metres above sea level. Ray Jotterand and Allan Burgess also successfully completed the climb.

Mr. Elzinga said no one suffered frostbite and their food supply was plentiful.

Three previous attempts to scale the mountain's southwest face were all unsuccessful. The most recent one was in 1978 when Mr. Lauchlan and Mr. Elzinga had to give up when the latter was hit on the head by falling rock.

Canadian contribution to UN Relief and Works Agency



William H. Barton (right), Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations, presents a check for \$1.75 million (Cdn.) to John A. Miles, director of the New York Liaison Office of the UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East, as Canada's contribution for 1979.