co-operation for the improvement and rational use of telecommunications of all kinds and to promote the development and efficient operation of technical facilities.

The supreme authority of the ITU is the Plenipotentiary Conference which normally meets once every five years. One was held in 1959. Between conferences the affairs of the Union are managed by the Administrative Council which meets annually. Canada has been one of the eighteen member countries on the Council since it was established in 1947. Subordinate to the Council are the Secretariat and three permanent technical organs—the International Frequency Registration Board (IFRB) at Geneva, and two International Consultative Committees, on Telegraph and Telephone (CCITT) and Radio (CCIR) which usually meet every three years. The International Radio Consultative Committee (CCIR) held its

The International Radio Consultative Committee (CCIR) held its Ninth Plenary Assembly in Los Angeles, California, from the 1st to 29th April, 1959, at which technical recommendations and reports were approved for submission to the Ordinary Administrative Radio Conference meeting later in the year.

The Administrative Council met in May and June of 1959 and completed arrangements for the convening of an Ordinary Administrative Radio Conference in Geneva on 17 August, 1959, for a period of four months, and a Plenipotentiary Conference also in Geneva from 14 October, 1959, for a period of two months, these Conferences to meet simultaneously during the last two months.

Both Conferences were held as planned and Canada was honoured in having the Head of the Canadian Delegation to the Ordinary Administrative Radio Conference, Mr. C. J. Acton, unanimously elected Chairman of the Conference. The Frequency Allocation Table was extended to an upper limit of 40,000 Mc/s, and in reviewing the table as a whole, changes were made to provide frequency allocations for space research communications, radio astronomy, and other new developments in the field of radio. The Radio Regulations were also revised to bring them up to date with current practice, and the Conference elected eleven members to the International Frequency Registration Board.

The Plenipotentiary Conference considered the reports of the Administrative Council on the activities of the Union since the last Plenipotentiary Conference held in Buenos Aires in 1952; established the budget of the Union until 1965; approved the accounts; revised the Convention; increased the membership of countries to the Administrative Council from 18 to 25, and elected the member countries of the Union to serve on the Administrative Council (to which Canada was re-elected); and elected a new Secretary-General and Deputy Secretary-General. The Convention was signed by 85 countries and the Radio Regulations by 84 countries, members of the Union, including Canada.

The results of these conferences will permit the Union to maintain and extend international co-operation for the improvement and use of telecommunications throughout the world; to promote the development of technical facilities and their efficient operation with a view to improving telecommunication services; and to harmonize the actions of nations in the attainment of these common ends. Participation in the Expanded Programme of Technical Assistance by the ITU is to be continued for the future.

World Meteorological Organization

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) with headquarters in Geneva developed from the International Meteorological Organization, a voluntary association of international weather services founded in 1878. 84411-8-5