Government Orders

• (1725)

[English]

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Kilger): I declare the motion carried.

(Bill read the third time and passed.)

* * *

CANADA-UNITED STATES TAX CONVENTION ACT, 1984

The House proceeded to the consideration of Bill S–9, an act to amend the Canada–United States Tax Convention Act, 1984, as reported (with amendment) from the committee.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Kilger): Pursuant to Standing Order 45, the House will now proceed to the deferred divisions at report stage of Bill S-9, an act to amend the Canada—United States Tax Convention Act, 1984.

The first question is on Motion No. 1.

Mr. Boudria: Mr. Speaker, if you were to seek it you might find unanimous consent. One or two members may wish to vote otherwise, but you might find consent for the members who voted on the previous motion to be recorded as having voted on the motion now before the House, with Liberal members voting nay on this motion.

Mr. Baker: Mr. Speaker, I certainly would not give unanimous consent to vote the same way as other Liberal members on the bill, in fact not the same way as the Reform or the Bloc will vote on the bill.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Kilger): I wonder if I might ask for clarification from the hon. member for Gander—Grand Falls. Is he stating his own intention of voting or is he also declining the unanimous consent?

Mr. Baker: Mr. Speaker, I moved the motion so obviously I would support Motion No. 1.

On Motion No. 2 perhaps there are other members who may feel the same way as I do about the amendments I have put forward so I would suggest that the vote proceed.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Kilger): There is not unanimous consent.

(The House divided on Motion No. 1, which was negatived on the following division:)

(Division No. 350)

YEAS

Althouse Blaikie Easter Nunziata Robinson Solomon Members Baker Caccia McLaughlin Riis Simmons Taylor—12

Abbott Alcock Augustine Bélair Bellehumeur Benoit Bertrand Bevilacqua Blondin-Andrew Bonin Breitkreuz (Yellowhead) Bridgman Brushett Calder Cannis Catterall Cohen Collins Copps Crawford de Savove Dhaliwal Duhamel Duncan Eggleton Epp Finlay Frazer Gaffney Gallaway Gerrard Gouk Grey (Beaver River) Grubel Hanrahan Harper (Churchill) Harris Harvard Hermanson Hill (Macleod) Hopkins Irwin Jennings Jordan Kirkby Kraft Sloan Lastewka Lavigne (Beauhamois-Salaberry) Lee Leroux (Shefford) MacDonald Malhi Manley Marleau Mavfield McKinnon McTeague Meredith Mills (Broadview-Greenwood) Mitchell Murphy Nault O'Brien Pagtakhan Penson Peters Phinney Pickard (Essex-Kent) Proud Regan Ringma Sauvageau Scott (Skeena) Sheridan Skoke Speller Stewart (Brant) Strahl Terrana Tobin

NAYS

Members

Ablonczy Assadourian Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre/Sud-Centre) Bélanger Bellemare Bernier (Beauce) **Bethel Bhaduria** Bodnar Boudria Breitkreuz (Yorkton-Melville) Brown (Calgary Southeast/Sud-Est) Bryden Campbell Caron Chatters Collenette Comuzzi Cowling Culbert DeVillers Dubé Dumas Dupuy English Fewchuk Fontana Fry Gagliano Gauthier Gilmour Gray (Windsor West/Ouest) Grose Guarnieri Harb Harper (Simcoe Centre) Hart Hayes Hickey Hoeppner Iftody Jackson Johnston Kerpan Knutson Landry Laurin LeBlanc (Cape/Cap-Breton Highlands-Canso) Leroux (Richmond-Wolfe) Loney MacLellan (Cape/Cap-Breton-The Sydneys) Maloney Marchi Massé McCormick McLellan (Edmonton Northwest/Nord-Ouest) McWhinney Milliken Mills (Red Deer) Morrison Миттау Nunez O'Reilly Parrish Peric Peterson Picard (Drummond) Pillitteri Ramsay Rideout Rock Schmidt Serré Silve Solberg St-Laurent Stewart (Northumberland) Szabo Thalheimer Torsney