provide a constructive example of the multinational approach, which is vital to peace and progress in the modern world.

In its widest sense, the Commonwealth is understood to include: member states and self-governing states associated with a Commonwealth member for the purpose of foreign policy and defence; protected states; trust territories administered by a member on behalf of the United Nations; and territories still dependent on a member. Including dependencies, the Commonwealth covers one-fifth of the world's land surface and embraces well over 860 million people.

Of the 36 full members, 16 have retained a monarchical form of government. Queen Elizabeth II is head of state of Canada and 11 other members. Malaysia has a monarch as head of state who is elected for a five-year term from among themselves by the nine hereditary Malay rulers of West Malaysia. On attaining independence, two members of the Commonwealth, Lesotho and Swaziland, had their paramount chiefs declared king and head of state. The Kingdom of Tonga remained a monarchy after Britain relinquished responsibility for the external affairs of this country in 1970. Twenty members of the Commonwealth have adopted a republican form of government, but all members recognize Queen Elizabeth as the symbol of their free association and, as such, the head of the Commonwealth.

Associated states within the Commonwealth

The term "associated state" means a country that has attained full internal self-government while Britain retains ultimate responsibility for its external affairs and defence. The association is a free and voluntary one; an associated state may choose independence at any time. In the Caribbean region, Antigua, St. Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla, Dominica, St. Lucia and St. Vincent are known as the West Indies Associated States (WIAS) and, by agreement with Britain, exercise delegated authority over a wide area of external relations. Britain is also responsible for the external affairs of Brunei, a sultanate on the northwest coast of Borneo, and co-operates in arrangements for its defence. Brunei has been protected by Britain since 1888. Southern Rhodesia, before its unilateral declaration of independence on November 11, 1965, was a self-governing colony of Britain. Following the illegal declaration of independence, the