commission comprises nine members, including government, academic, business and professional representatives. A community college system has not yet developed; however, the institutes of technology are growing in size and inclusiveness. The Manitoba Educational Research Council is at present conducting an extensive study of post-secondary, non-university education in the province.

Saskatchewan: In 1964, all teacher-training was taken over by the universities. There is one university with two campuses, at Saskatoon and Regina. Relations with the government are direct. A university-government committee has examined the development of higher education for the province, and has recommended the establishment of community colleges. There are two institutes of technology and one church-governed college.

<u>Alberta</u>: The province now has three universities: the University of Alberta (Edmonton), the University of Calgary (Calgary), which was until 1964 a campus of the University of Alberta, and the University of Lethbridge (Lethbridge). A universities commission was established in 1965, the role of which is to examine university operating and capital costs, financial requirements and needs, to advise the government on grant allocation, and to allocate funds voted by the legislature to the institutions. Alberta has a grants formula similar to the one used in Ontario. In 1967, a provincial board of post-secondary education was established to advise the government on the scope and financing of junior colleges and, with the universities commission, on general post-secondary education needs.

British Columbia: Simon Fraser University opened in 1965. The province is also instituting a system of community and junior colleges. There are two boards in the province, the Academic Board and the Finance Board, which were established in 1964 to assist in the co-ordination of higher education. A Division of University Affairs was set up within the Department of University Education. A grants commission has also been established. In 1969, the Colleges Act established a system of community colleges in the province, to be financed by the provincial government. There are five public colleges, which are designed to become comprehensive community institutions, offering both occupational and university transfer programs. There are two institutes of technology, three agricultural colleges and three private church-related colleges, one of which aims to become the French-language center of higher education in the West.

National and International Aspects

As there is no federal ministry of education, each province, as indicated in the preceding section, is making plans for the future of higher education within its own boundaries. In addition, various national organizations (1) attempt to study and influence certain aspects of higher education at the national level. Examples are the following studies which have either been completed within the past five years or are now under way: