- 3 -

ARTICLE II

1. Each of the non-nuclear states party to this Treaty undertakes not to manufacture nuclear weapons; each undertakes not to seek or to receive the transfer of such weapons into its national control, either directly, or indirectly through a military alliance; and each undertakes not to take any other action which would cause an increase in the total number of states and other organizations having independent power to use nuclear weapons.

2. Each of the non-nuclear states party to this Treaty undertakes not to seek or receive assistance in the manufacture of nuclear weapons, or itself to grant such assistance.

ARTICLE III

1. Each of the states party to this Treaty undertakes to co-operate in facilitating the application of International Atomic Energy Agency or equivalent international safeguards on all peaceful nuclear activities.

ARTICLE IV

In this Treaty:

- a) "nuclear state" means a state possessing independent power to use nuclear weapons as of (date).
- b) "non-nuclear state" means any state which is not a nuclear state.

ARTICLE V

1. This Treaty shall be open to all states for signature. Any state which does not sign this Treaty before its entry into force in accordance with Paragraph Three of this Article may accede to it at any time.

2. This Treaty shall be subject to ratification by signatory states. Instruments of ratification and instruments of accession shall be deposited with the Governments of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the United States of America, which are hereby designated the depositary governments.

3. This Treaty shall enter into force on the deposit of instruments of ratification by ... (fixed number of) governments, including those of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the United States of America.

4. For states whose instruments of ratification or accession are deposited subsequent to the entry into force of this Treaty, it shall enter into force on the date of deposit of their instruments of ratification or accession.