FREE TRADE AGREEMENT

BETWEEN

CANADA

AND

THE STATES OF THE

EUROPEAN FREE TRADE ASSOCIATION

(ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN, NORWAY AND SWITZERLAND)

Canada, and the Republic of Iceland, the Principality of Liechtenstein, the Kingdom of Norway and the Swiss Confederation (the "EFTA States"), hereinafter collectively referred to as the "Parties",

RESOLVED to strengthen the special bonds of friendship and co-operation among their nations;

REAFFIRMING their commitment to the United Nations Charter and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights;

DESIRING to contribute to the harmonious development and expansion of world trade and provide a catalyst to broader international and transatlantic co-operation;

DETERMINED to create an expanded and secure market for the goods produced in their territories;

WISHING to establish a free trade area through the removal of trade barriers;

COMMITTED to reduce distortions of trade;

RESOLVED to establish clear and mutually advantageous rules governing their trade;

INTENDING to enhance the competitiveness of their firms in global markets;

AIMING to create new employment opportunities and improve working conditions and living standards in their respective territories;

DETERMINED to ensure that the gains from trade liberalisation are not offset by the erection of private, anti-competitive barriers;