A SCHOOL HYGIENE DEPARTMENT.

A new Department of the Ontario Educational Association was formed on Wednesday, April 26th, at 10.00 a.m., in the new Medical Building of the University of Toronto, to be called the School Hygiene Department. All engaged in teaching, or in medical work or practice, and anyone else interested in the subject, are invited to join this new body. Dr. A. P. Knight, of Kingston, was elected President, and Dr. Goodchild, of Toronto, Secretary. Dr. Knight, who has taught in Ontario Public Schools, Collegiate Institutes, etc., showed himself conversant with all matters pertaining to School Hygiene, and made an excellent Chairman. The meeting was well attended, nearly all the members of the Provincial Board of Health being present, and was decidedly enthusiastic. Dr. Alex. Thompson, of Strathroy, presented the excellent paper which will be found elsewhere in this number, and gave rise to a good discussion, Dr. Bryans, Dr. Cassidy, Dr. Kitchen and others taking part.

The following Resolution was prepared and sent on to the General

Association from this section.

Moved by Dr. A. P. Knight, Queen's University, Kingston, seconded by Dr. Helen MacMurchy, and carried unanimously:

That this Association desires to direct the attention of the Educational Authorities of the Province to the necessity of increased practical work in connection with School Hygiene, and especially to the importance of proper and systematic Medical Inspection of

Schools; and

That the following Committee be appointed to lay this matter before the Honorable the Minister of Education, and to co-operate with the Provincial Board of Health, the Ontario Medical Association, the International Conference on School Hygiene, and any others interested in this important subject, and to report to the next annual meeting of this Association. John Ball Dow, President; President Loudon, Principal Gordon, Chancellor Burwash, Provost Macklem, Chancellor Wallace, Rev. Dr. Teefy, Hon. S. H. Blake, Professor MacCallum, Principals Scott, White, Dearness and Embree, Dr. Oldright, Dr. Sheard, Dr. Hodgetts, Dr. Connell; Inspectors, Robb, J. L. Hughes, R. H. Cowley, Silcox; Trustees, G. H. Wilson and Parkinson, T. H. Smyth, W. D. Spence, W. J. Hendry, S. B. MacCready, Miss Watson, Dr. Clara Benson, Miss Davidson, Miss Maud Lyon, and the mover and seconder of this motion. The President and Secretary of the section on School Hygiene to act as Convener and Secretary of this Committee.