malaria and yellow fever, which are transmitted only by particular species of mosquitoes. The address was illustrated by many excellent lantern slides.

On the following morning the members spent a pleasant hour in the Biological Museum, where many interesting specimens were exhibited by those present. At 10.30 o'clock the proceedings were resumed in the Biological Lecture Hall, the president, Dr. E. M. Walker, opening the meeting with the reading of the presidential address, which dealt with the entomological field in Canada at the present time and the directions along which progress in this science may be expected in in the near future.

In the afternoon the following papers were read: "Some Forest Insects from De Grassi Point, Lake Simcoe," by Dr. Walker; "Thrips Affecting Cereals," by Dr. Hewitt; "The Stream," by Dr. Fyles; "Blister Beetles," by Mr. Arthur Gibson; "A Parasite of Hepialus Thule," by Mr. A. F. Winn; "Common Ipide of Eastern Canada," by Prof. J. M. Swaine; "Insect Migrations in Manitoba," by Mr. Norman Criddle; "The Catalogue of Canadian Insects," by Dr. Hewitt; "Entomological Record for 1911," by Mr. Gibson; and "Notes on Hepialus hyperboreus," by Mr. Horace Dawson.

The election of officers for the ensuing year resulted as follows:

President—Dr. Edmund M. Walker, Lecturer in Zoology, University of Toronto.

Vice-Fresident—Dr. C. Gordon Hewitt, Dominion Entomologist, Central Experimental Farm, Ottawa.

Secretary-Treasurer—Mr. A. W. Baker, B. S. A., Demonstrator in Entomology, O. A. College, Guelph.

Curator—Mr. Lawson Cæsar, B. A., B. S. A., Lecturer in Entomology and Plant Diseases, O. A. College.

Librarian—Rev. C. J. S. Bethune, M. A., D. C. L., F. R. S. C., Professor of Entomology and Zoology, O. A. College.

Directors—Division No. 1, Mr. Arthur Gibson, Div. of Entomology, Central Experimental Farm, Ottawa; Division No. 2, Mr. C. E. Grant, Orillia; Division No. 3, Mr. A. Cosens, Parkdale Collegiate Institute, Toronto; Division No. 4, Mr. C. W. Nash, East Toronto; Division No. 5, Mr. R. S. Duncan, Port Hope; Division No. 6, Mr. R. S. Hamilton, Collegiate Institute, Galt; Division No. 7, Mr. W. A. Ross, Jordan Harbour.

Delegate to the Royal Society-Prof. J. M. Swaine, Macdonald College, P. Q.

Auditors -- Prof. J. E. Howitt and Mr. W. A. McCubbin, Ontario Agricultural College.