LAVAL UNIVERSITY

The Laval University was founded in 1852, by the Quebec Seminary. The Royal Charter granted by H. M. Queen Victoria was signed at Westminster, December 8, 1852.

By the Bull Inter varias sollicitudines, May 15, 1876, the Sovereign Pontiff Pius IX, of glorious and pious memory, has given to the Laval Univer-

sity its complement by granting it the solemn canonical erection with many extensive privileges. By virtue of this Bull, the University has for

Protector, at the Holy See, His Eminence the Cardinal Prefect of the Propaganda.

The Supreme direction of doctrine and discipline viz, of faith and morals, is vested in a Superior Council, composed of the Rt. Rev. Bishops of the civil Province of Québec, under the Presidency of His Grace the Archbishop of Quebec, who is also Apostolic Chancellor of the University.

By virtue of the Royal Charter, the Visitor of the Laval University is the Catholic Archbishop of Quebec, who has the right of veto over all the rules

and nominations.

The Superior of the Quebec Seminary is de jure

the Rector of the University.

The Council of the University is composed of the Directors of the Quebec Seminary and of the three senior titular professors of each of the faculties.

There are four faculties, viz, that of Theology, of Law, of Medicine and of Arts. The professors of the faculty of Theology are named by the Visitor.