# Athletes garner awards at annual fete

#### All Conference

Winston Ayeni Cletus Ntsike Dania Ebenezer

Field Hockey Janet Miller Heather Howe

Jacques Chartrain Phil Buttaglia Stuart Fraser

**Gymnastics** Randy Thompson Bob Johnson

Women's Basketball Syvlia Blumenfeld Moira Pryde Patti Sheppard Cathy Maxwell Claire Mitton

### Top male from pg 24

softball team won the provincial title for several years. His interest in tennis has recently dwindled. but he's inactive only "because I've been trying to make some money to go to college for the last few years." Wood is sponsored by an American company that supplies his racquets.

Funding for athletes was not a pretty picture, according to Wood. The only available awards are merit awards designed to attract students to the university from high school." These awards are available in all faculties for high school students with high marks.

Wood looks forward to "an Soccer excellent future", said MacAdam, and it depends on what George wants to do, because he has a lot Canon W.J. Clarke Award of options open to him."

Dale MacLean Gary Kelly Paul Sutcliffe Sharon Paquette Celeste Smart

Men's Swimming lain Sinclair Rob Davis Bruce Williams

Women's Swimming Karen Strangroom Deidre Pretlove Kathy Gaul Julie Johnson Debbie Whittemore Randi Strangroom

Women's Volleyball Alice Kamermans

Men's Volleyball Mike Phillips

Wrestling Phil Knox Mike Ballah Perry Kukkonen Dan Berman Gabriel El Khoury Leo McGee Reid Barrett

#### All Canadian

Football Stuart Fraser <u>Volleyball</u> Dirk Kiy Diving Dale MacLean

#### Awards

Field Hockey M.V.P. - Janet Miller

Canon W.J. Clarke Award forward ( Nisike) defense (Winston Ayeni)

Most Valuable Offense - Stuart Fraser Most Valuable Defense - Kim MacPherson

M.V.P. - Terry Cripotos Kaplanski Award - Steve Corscad-Rookie of the Year - Steve

Corscadden Cross Country Peake Memorial Trophy - Peter

Richardson Dr. R.J. Lane Trophy - Joe Lehman LaHave Equipment Ltd. Trophy presented to A.U.A.A. Champions by Dean Kidd

Gymnast of the Year - Randy Thompson Ron Walsh Award donated by Civil Engineering Class of 1969 to

A.U.A.A. Champions M.V.P. - Dale McLean Women's Basketball A.U.A.A. Trophy M.V.P. - Cathy Maxwell

Men's Basketball

M.V.P. - Andy Cheam

M.V.P. - Perry Kukkunen A.U.A.A. Trophy

Gilman Leach Memorial Award presented to M.V. swimmer by coach - Bruce Williams Ashley Colter Trophy presented to A.U.A.A. Champions

Women's Swimming M.V.P. - Debbie Whittemore

Hockey W.W. Laskey Award to M.V.P. George Wood Pete Violette Memorial Award presented to outstanding defenseman.

Men's Volleyball M.V.P. - Dirk Kiy A.U.A.A. Trophy for champion-Steve Richmond Memorial Trophy Rod Black

Distinctions: Sylvia Blumenfeld, Basketball; Dale McLean, Diving; Ken Salmon, Gymnastics; Jimmy Kakaletris, Soccer; Ginny Bradley, Swimming; Paul Steeves

Swimming; Mike Ballak, Wrestling; John Kalina, Football; Terry Cripotos, Football; Kim McPherson, Football; and Shawn O'Connor, Cross Country.

#### Money money

Despite what cynics and scoffers have long maintained, women's athletic events can earn money. Last year, several universities in Southern California began chargng admission to some of the games played by women -- and hey were a success. When UCLA's women's volleyball team played the women from the University of Southern California, for example, more than 4,000 people showed up. UCLA had conducted the tournament for years, at a loss. But once they started charging admission, that game and others paid for themselves and made money -- even though an expensive program was printed.

'Quality is quality, regardless of ex," says Barbara Hedges women's athletic director at USC. It's what we've always said and we've proven that." (Newscript)

## Skiers take Atlantic

By GREG DIXON

The UNB Ski team once again dominated their final race of the season. Last weekend the skiers travelled to Sugarloaf Park in Campbellton, N.B. for the annual Atlantic Cup. Winning the cup for UNB was Jim Cuttle and Michelle Dauphinee. In order for individuals to win the cup he and she must place well in all of the 4 races (2 slalom and 2 giant slalom). With such close competition an error in any one race would be decisive.

Traditionally a race with participants from N.S., Quebec, and N.B., this year saw just N.B. and Quebec in competition. A total of 60 racers competed in the two day event. The giant slalom on Saturday was approximately 30 gates and a very quick course. Top times were between 45 and 50 seconds. The slalom course was composed of 65 gates and top times were around 1:05 that's a turn a second.

The UNB ski team originated in the minds of UNB skiers last fall. It started out with dry-land training

sessions on Mount Buchanan and culminated with victory at the Atlantic cup. The team attended six competitions and got bigger and better with every race.

Many thanks have been given to our sponsors and others but no thanks is more deserving than to the members of our team who forfeited much time and money to make this season a great success. Thanks to Wayne Flann, John Wilson, Peter Chrzanowski, Jim Cuttle and Michelle Dauphinee, Peter Reeves, Judith Durance, Jim Caven, Robin Richardson, Anne Bagnall, Barb Armstrong, Lenny Simak, Leneord Velensky, Bill Curtis, Dave Demers, and Cathy Maloney.

Already we're looking forward to next season and hoping to attend more university meets. A Christmas camp is also being planned for somewhere in the Laurentians.

Skiing is not over yet and many of the guys are heading to Tuckerman's Ravine, Mt. Washington after exams. Should be a good

P.S. Thanks to the Athletic Department for the use of their

