VOL, LV, No. 39 UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA

The Gateway

FOUR PAGES TUESDAY, MARCH 2, 1965

ELECTIONS FRIDAY

Voters in Friday's election will signify candidates of their choice by marking their ballots in ascending numerical order according to preference. (The number "1" will be used to indicate first preference, the number "2" will indicate second preference, etc. See sample ballot below.)

Only those ballots indicating a "first" choice will be considered valid. Ballots displaying an "X," checkmarks, initials, etc., or ballots without the number "1" placed opposite the name of ONE candidate will be considered spoiled.

Please note this Gateway sample ballot.

BALLOT —This Is A Preferential Ballot— Mark numerically to signify order of preference. PRESIDENT DOE, James 2 3 SMITH, John WILSON, George A. 1

(This ballot favours George Wilson for president.)

The Gateway

Opinions expressed in platform statements are those of the candidates and their campaign managers. The undersigned takes responsibility for all else.

In keeping with Gateway tradition, staffers will run a telephone service on election night — this Friday — after 7 p.m. Election results may be obtained by calling 433-1155.

> William J. Winship Editor-in-Chief

The Candidates

The following persons will contest three students' union offices in the election Friday.

President of the Students' Union

Omaya Al Karmy J. Andrew Brook Richard T. Price

Vice-President of the Students' Union

Linda-Lee Brix Patricia Hughes Betty Klimovich Carole Smallwood

Secretary-Treasurer of the Students' Union

Ross Harris Eric Hayne

Preferential Balloting Employed Nine Candidates Vie For 3 SU Positions

Friday is election day.

The end to a week of kicklines, bands and girls.

The excitement was to begin today at 11 a.m. with a rally in Con Hall.

Classes were to be cancelled for this period to promote full student participation.

Nine candidates contesting three students' union positions will speak.

The remaining eight positions were filled by acclamation. A preferential ballot will be employed in the students' un-

On a preferential ballot the voter indicates the candidates of his choice numerically in order of preference.

For example if three candidates contest a position the number "1" is to be placed beside the name of the preferred candidate; a "2" beside second preference and a "3" beside the voter's third preference.

In order to be valid all ballots must carry the number 1 beside the name of a candidate.

Second and third choices need not necessarily be indicated. "However any ballot marked with an X or left without a first choice indicated by the number 1 will be considered invalid," says Ron McMahon, election returning officer.

Results will be tabulated by totalling the first choices and eliminating the lowest candidate . . . then totalling the second choices and eliminating the lowest candidate again.

The process is continued until a winner is declared. McMahon says students should note the different method

of voting this year to prevent spoiled ballots.

Full members in good standing may vote in the students' union election upon presentation of their campus "A" card . . that is the university IBM card—the plastic cards are NOT acceptable.

Election polls will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday in the agricultural, education, engineering, medical sciences, and

arts buildings.

Polls will be open in Lister Hall, the nurses residence, the university hospital and the "V" lecture wing for the same

Students can vote in SUB until 6 p.m. election day.

An advance poll will be held in the SUB rotunda from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Thursday for students who will be away from campus on election day.

$oldsymbol{A}$ cclamations

The following eight people have been elected by acclamation to their respective positions in the students' union:

Co-ordinator of Student Activities J. Fraser Smith

Chairman of the Local Committee, Canadian Union of Students David Estrin

President of Men's Athletics William E. A. Miller

President of Women's Athletics Halyna Chomiak

Treasurer of Men's Athletics Douglas C. Walker

President of the Wauneita Society Yvonne A. Walmsley

Vice-President of the Wauneita Society Marilyn L. Pilkington

Secretary-Treasurer of the Wauneita Society Barbara J. Ballhorn