1867.

The Parliament of the Dominion of Canada met for the first time at Ottawn on the 6th Nov., 1867. Immediately after the return of the Commons from the Senate Chamber, the Clerk being in the Chair, the Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, K.C.B. (Kingston), moved, seconded by the Hon. G. E. Cartier (Montreal East), that the Hon. James Cockburn (West Northumberland), do take the chair of that House as Speaker, which was carried unanimously. Mr. Speaker was then conducted to the Chair, where he returned his humble acknowledgments for the great honor conferred On the 8th Nov. the Hon. C. Fisher upon him. (Northumberland, N.B.), moved the address in reply to the Speech, seconded by Mr. L. L. L. Desaulniers (St. Maurice), which was agreed to on the 15th. On the 21st Dec., the House adjourned until the 12th March.

1869.

On the 16th Apl., Mr. W. M. Simpson (Algoma), moved the usual address in reply to the Speech, seconded by Mr. J. Bolton (Charlotte), which was adopted the same day.

1870.

On the 17th Feby., Mr. A. W. Savary (Digby), moved the address, seconded by Mr. J. Scriver (Huntingdon), which was adopted on the 22nd.

ABBOTT, Lieut.- Col. Hon. JOHN JOSEPH CALDWELL, D.C.L., Q.C. [Argenteuil.]

Eldest s. of the late Rev. Joseph Abbott, first Anglican Incumbent of St. Andrews, Argentouil, well known as the author of Philip Musgrave, or the Adventures of a Missionary in Canada; by Harriet, dau. of the Rev. Richard Bradford, first Rector of Chatham, same county. B. at St. An-