Anibersity of Hamilton.

en il

In the UNIVERSITY there will be the following Departments or Faculties, viz. :

I.—FACULTY OF ARTS. H.—FACULTY OF LAW. III.—FACULTY OF MEDICINE. IV.—AGRICULTURE. V.—MERCANTILE. VI.—MECHANICS.

I. FACULTY OF ARTS.

This College, or Department in the University, is to embrace the Collegiate course of instruction which has obtained in similar Institutions, viz., Anciert and Modern Languages; Mathematics; Natural, Mental, and Moral Sciences; General, but more particularly, English Literature.

The Degrees to be conferred in this Faculty, are B. A. and M. A.

II. LAW.

The Studies and Lectures necessary for Students in $La_{n,n}$ to be established in this Department. But Lectures, on the more practical parts of the Laws of the country, to be open to all the Students of the University.

The Degrees to be conferred in this Faculty, are B. C. L. and D. C. L.

HII. MEDICINE.

To embrace the Studies usual in Schools of Medicine. The Degrees to be M. B. and M. D.

IV. AGRICULTURE.

With a Farm, under the superintendence of a practical Agriculturist, and Leetures on those subjects which elucidate every department of Agriculture—as the nature of Soils, Manures, Rotation of Crops, Drainage, &c. Also, Natural Philosophy—as Mechanics, Hydrostatics, Hydraulics, Pneumatics, with Chemistry, Botany, &c.

Appropriate Degrees to be given in this and the two following Departments.

V. MERCANTILE.

In which will be taught those studies especially necessary for the Merchant, the Banker, the Accountant, &c. such as Book-keeping, Political Economy (the Laws of Wealth), French, &c.

VI. MECHANICS.

In which the Scientific knowledge necessary in the Mechanical Arts, shall be taught. This Department will also include Navigation, Surveying, Engineering, Gunnery, &c.