ceau) finds tradition such a motivating force for him and his government.

The issue, of course, is the right of the public to information. I suggest that if the minister had been responding to the Secretary of State (Mr. Faulkner) after a request for a legal opinion addressed to the Minister of Justice (Mr. Lang), then perhaps I would have a more difficult time preparing my argument, but what the Minister of Justice was doing was objecting to a program, speaking as the member of parliament for Saskatoon-Humboldt. That is quite a different category, and I am surprised that the minister should wish to take refuge in the traditions of confidentiality-I think very largely outmoded-by resisting my motion.

As I said earlier, we will continue to have leaks of information, letters, and other documents if governments persist in trying to hold the lid on consultants' memoranda, letters, and so on which, by their very nature, should never have been marked confidential. In any event I think the issue should be tested, and I will be glad to have it tested. I suspect that the Secretary of State has heard many more representations about this particular program than that of the hon. member for Saskatoon-Humboldt (Mr. Lang), who is also the Minister of Justice of Canada, and I am surprised that all these letters should be locked away so that we, as representatives, and the public, are unable to judge the merits of those representations.

Once again I thank those who have participated in the debate. I am sorry that inevitably the majority is a tradition bound government and that will mean that I will not be successful, but I am sanguine about the outcome and I hope that some day this, or a succeeding government, will be much freer about making information available.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): All those opposed to the motion will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five hon. members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): Call in the members. The House divided on the motion (Mr. Fairweather), which was negatived on the following division:

• (1740)

(Division No. 32) YEAS

Messrs

Alkenbrack Andre (Calgary Centre) Crouse Dionne (Kamouraska)

Fraser Friesen Government Information

Messrs.

Douglas Gilbert (Grenville-Carleton) (Nanaimo-Cowichan-Hamilton Baldwin The Islands) Balfour Ellie Beatty Elzinga Hamilton (Swift Current-Epp Clark Fairweather (Rocky Mountain) Firth Holmes Coates Forrestall Horner Cossitt Knowles Fortin Jarvis Rondeau (Winnipeg MacLean Saltsman North Centre) Macquarrie Schumacher Knowles Marshall Scott (Norfolk-Haldimand) McKenzie Smith Korchinski McKinley Lambert McKinnon Stevens (Bellechasse) Muir Stewart Lambert Munro (Edmonton West) (Esquimalt-Saanich) Neil Symes Laprise La Salle Orlikow Lawrence O'Sullivan Leggatt Paproski MacDonald (Miss)

Patterson Peters Ritchie Roche

Towers Wenman Whiteway Whittaker Woolliame Yewchuk-70

Marchand

(Langelier) Marchand

(Qu'Appelle-Moose

Mountain)

Maple Creek)

(Churchill)

(Marquette)

NAYS

Messrs

Abbott Dupras Allmand Ethier Faulkner Andras Flynn (Port Arthur) Foster Andres Fox (Lincoln) Francis Appolloni (Mrs.) Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) (Gander-Twillingate) Gendron Béchard Gillespie Bégin (Miss) Goodale Goyer Guay Blaker Blouin (St. Boniface) Boulanger Guilbault Breau Haidasz Buchanan Herbert Bussières Hopkins Caccia Isabelle Campagnolo (Mrs.) Jamieson Campbell (Miss) Joyal (South Western Nova) Kaplan Campbell Lachance (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Lajoie Saint-Paul) Lalonde Caron Chrétien Lang Laniel Clermont Lapointe Collenette Comtois

(Kingston and the

Islands)

Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc Lefebvre Loiselle Lumley MacDonald (Northumberland-Macdonald (Rosedale) MacFarlane (Bruce-Grey) MacGuigan

(Westmorland-Kent) (Chambly) (Cardigan)

(Kamloops-Cariboo) McIsaac McRae Milne Morin (Mrs.) Munro (Hamilton East) Nicholson (Miss) O'Connell Olivier Ouellet Parent Pearsall Pelletier (Hochelaga) Pelletier (Sherbrooke) Philbrook Pinard Portelance Poulin Railton Reid Roberts Robinson Rompkey Roy (Laval) Sharp Smith (Saint-Jean) Stanbury Stewart (Cochrane) Stollery Tessier Trudeau Turner (London East)

Watson

Whelan

Yanakis

Young-115.

Duclos Dupont **(1800)** 

Corbin

Côté

Cullen

Danson

Daudlin

De Bané

Demers

Dionne

Douglas

Drury

Miramichi)

Corriveau

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost

Mackasey

Maine

Marceau

Mr. McCleave: Mr. Speaker, I was paired with the hon. member for Quebec East (Mr. Duquet).