The Operational Side

The Bank's operations are carried out by 23 departments and services, including the following:

1. The Office of the Secretary-General

Responsible for executing the decisions of the Board of Governors and the Board of Directors, for organizing the Board's documents, and for legal and protocol questions with the host nation.

- 2. The Offices of the Internal Auditor and of Operations Evaluation Responsible for monitoring the Bank's activities.
- 3. Operations: Regions I and II

A) Country Programs: Departments I and II

Two departments, responsible for maintaining close relations with member countries and preparing programs for member countries in the following subregions of Africa:

Department I: North, Eastern and Southern Africa

North Africa:

Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Djibouti, Somalia, Libya, Egypt,

Sudan

East Africa:

Burundi, Madagascar, Uganda, Seychelles, Ethiopia, Rwanda,

Comoro, Mauritius, Kenya

Southern Africa: Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia, Swaziland,

Zimbabwe, Tanzania

Department II: West and Central Africa

Central Africa:

Zaire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Angola, Sao Tomé,

Cameroon, Chad, Central African Republic, Congo

West Africa I:

Mali, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Niger, Ivory Coast, Mauritania,

Togo, Benin

West Africa II:

Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea,

Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau