Since, at the first election in February, 1946, all fifteen judges were being elected, it was necessary to choose by lot five to serve for nine years, five for six, and five for three. Five judges were therefore elected at the third regular session of the Assembly in 1948.

The seat of the Court is at The Hague, but the Court may sit elsewhere.

The Secretariat

The Secretariat consists of the Secretary-General (Mr. Trygve Lie), eight assistant secretaries-general, and about three thousand other members of the staff.

The Secretary-General is appointed for a five-year term by the General Assembly on the recommendation of the Security Council. He is eligible for appointment for a further five-year term. He appoints the other members of the Secretariat, under regulations established by the Assembly and in accordance with the provision of the Charter that the "paramount consideration...shall be the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence and integrity".

The Secretariat is divided into eight departments, each of which is directed by an assistant secretary-general:

- (1) Security Council Affairs, Mr. A. A. Sobolev;
- (2) Economic Affairs, Mr. David Owen:
- (3) Social Affairs, Mr. Henri Laugier;
- (4) Trusteeship and Information from Non-Self Governing Territories, Dr. Victor Hoo;
- (5) Public Information, Mr. Benjamin Cohen;
- (6) Legal, Dr. Ivan Kerno;
- (7) Conference and General Services, Mr. Adrian Pelt;
- (8) Administrative and Financial Services, Mr. Byron Price.

Budget

The expenses of the United Nations are, at present, approximately \$41,650,000 (U.S.) a year. The budget must be approved by a two-thirds vote of the General Assembly. The Assembly, also by a two-thirds vote, approves of the apportionment of the expenses among the Members of the U. N.

Constitution

The United Nations has a written constitution, the Charter of the United Nations, drawn up at the San Francisco Conference in 1945 on the basis of the Dumbarton Oaks Proposals. This Constitution is supplemented by rules of procedure of the respective organs of the United Nations.

Formal amendments of the Charter come into force only when they have been adopted by a vote of two-thirds of the members of the General Assembly and ratified by two-thirds of the members of the United Nations, including all the permanent members of the Security Council.

¹ For an account of the elections at the third session of the General Assembly see Section I, Chapter 5, p. 32.