Cvr

Division

the Leader of the Opposition has not visited the north. That is inaccurate. He has been to the Yukon and to the Northwest Territories. The previous Prime Minister, the right hon. member for Prince Albert, was the first Canadian Prime Minister to visit the north twice in succession.

Mr. Chrétien: Since we are close to five o'clock, Mr. Speaker, I will not raise any more issues. One of the accusations made by the Leader of the Opposition was that we are not following the Alaskan experience. I was in Alaska before he was and officials of my department visit Alaska regularly. They are making sure that we are kept informed on everything taking place there. I can assure hon, members that we pretty well know the situation in Alaska, and know much more about the situation in the north than do the members of the opposition. We will have ample opportunity to discuss the bill in committee after second reading. I am willing to examine all suggestions made by hon, members in committee, and I am sure this bill is going to be a great improvement on the former legislation governing the administration of the resources in the north.

Mr. Nielsen: Rubbish.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Richard): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: On division.

Mr. Nielsen: We want a recorded division, Mr. Speaker.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Richard): All those in favour of the said motion please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Richard): All those opposed please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Richard): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Richard): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Chrétien) which was agreed to on the following division:

• (5:00 p.m.)

YEAS

Anderson Andras Badanai Barnett Barrett Basford Béchard Benjamin Benson Blair

Messrs: Blouin Borrie Broadbent Burton Cafik Chappell Chrétien Clermont Corriveau Côté (Longueuil)

[Mr. Nielsen.]

Messrs:

MacInnis (Mrs.) Crossman Cullen Danson Deachman Deakon Douglas Dubé Duquet Forget Foster Francis Gendron Gilbert Gillespie Gleave Reid Grav Groos Harding Rose Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary)

Howard (Skeena) Hymmen

Isabelle Jamieson Jerome Kaplan Kierans

Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Laing

(Vancouver South) Langlois Laniel

Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lessard (LaSalle) Lessard

(Lac-Saint-Jean) MacEachen

Bell

Mackasev McIlraith Mahoney Mather Morison Munro Nystrom Orlikow Osler Pelletier Pepin Perrault Peters Portelance Pringle Richard Roy (Laval) Saltsman Skoberg Smith (Saint-Jean) Stanbury Stewart (Cochrane) Stewart (Okanagan-Kootenay) Thomas (Maisonneuve-

Rosemont) Thomson

(Battleford-Kindersley)

Trudeau Trudel

Turner (London East) Turner (Ottawa-Carleton)

Walker Weatherhead Whelan Whicher Winch Yanakis-96.

NAYS

Messrs: MacInnis (Cape Aiken Alexander Breton-East Richmond) Baldwin MacLean Macquarrie Code MacRae Comeau McCleave Crouse McCutcheon McKinley Danforth Dionne Monteith Flemming Nesbitt Forrestall Nielsen Fortin Gauthier Noble Godin Paproski Hales Peddle Harkness Rodrigue

Horner Ryan Howe Simpson Knowles (Norfolk-Southam Haldimand) Stanfield Korchinski Stewart (Marquette) Lambert Tétrault (Bellechasse) Thomas (Moncton)

• (5:20 p.m.)

Laprise

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Bill read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

Yewchuk-45.