DEFINITIONS

SMALL MISSIONS are generally defined as those with staffing levels of 10 Program Officers(CBP and LEP) or less including OGD staff. We should however differentiate between micro and mini missions, the main difference being that the mini mission is usually self-sufficient in many administrative areas while the micro mission requires extensive support.

MICRO MISSIONS are normally offices established to accomplish specific tasks (usually aid or trade) or satellite offices which are managed by one CBS officer. These missions can easily function under the Hub and spoke concept as they are usually supported by a mother mission. The following missions fall into that category:

GGB – Abuja (Lagos), Bamako (Abidjan), Conakry (Dakar), Dubai (Riyadh), Jeddah (Riyadh), Johannesburg (Pretoria), Kigali (Nairobi), Kinshasa (Abidjan), Maputo (Harare), Niamey (Abidjan), Ouagadougou (Abidjan),

IFB - Paris Unesco

LGB – La Paz (Lima), Monterrey (Mexico), Quito (Bogota), Santo Domingo (Caracas), Tegucigalpa (San Jose)

PGB – Auckland (Wellington), Bombay (New Delhi), Fukuoka (Tokyo), Karachi (Islamabad), Kathmandu (New Delhi), Nagoya (Tokyo), Osaka (Tokyo), Phnom Pehn (Bangkok), Sydney (Canberra)

RGB – Almaty (Moscow), Berlin (Bonn), Dusseldorf (Bonn), Lyon (Paris), Milan (Rome), Munich (Bonn), Riga (Stockholm), St Petersburg (Moscow), Talinn (Stockholm), Vatican (Rome), Vilnius (Stockholm), Zagreb (Budapest)

UGB – Cincinatti (Detroit), Dayton (Detroit), El Sigundo (Los Angeles), Miami (Atlanta), Pittsburg (Buffalo), Princeton (New York), San Diego (Los Angeles), San Francisco (Los Angeles), San Jose (Los Angeles), San Juan (Atlanta)

MINI-MISSIONS – Missions which handle more than one program and can be self sufficient administratively. They are usually staffed with CBS administrative personnel. The following missions fall into that category:

GGB - Addis Ababa, Algiers, Dar es Salaam, Kuwait, Lagos, Libreville, Lusaka, Tunis, Yaounde

LGB - Georgetown, Havana, OAS

PGB - Hanoi, Shanghai, Taipei, Wellington

RGB - Berne, Copenhagen, Dublin, Helsinki