specialized bodies organized on functional or regional bases. Most of the Specialized Agencies also report to the General Assembly through ECOSOC (see organizational chart).

ECOSOC has 54 members elected by the General Assembly for three-year terms with the possibility of re-election. There are no officially permanent members, but states whose participation is considered necessary to the work of the Council have been regularly re-elected. Canada has served on six separate occasions, including the years 1981-83. It has recently been re-elected to a term that will run until 1986.

There are currently five regional economic commissions:

- 1) Economic Commission for Africa (ECA), in Addis Ababa
- 2) Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), in Bangkok
- 3) Economic Commission for Europe (ECE), in Geneva
- 4) Economic Commission for Latin America (ECLA), in Santiago
- 5) Economic Commission for Western Asia (ECWA), in Baghdad

These commissions both serve as advisory bodies and assume important operational responsibilities.

The subsidiary machinery of the Council also includes six functional commissions, each of which initiates and co-ordinates United Nations activities within a more specifically delineated area of interest. The Population Commission, the Commission for Social Development and the Statistical Commission are centered in New York, the Commission on Human Rights operates from Geneva and the Commissions on the Status of Women and on Narcotic Drugs are in Vienna.

Beyond the Commissions are a number of related programmes and bodies set up over the years in response to specific international priorities. These include most of the programmes through which multilateral aid and development assistance have been channeled to the less developed regions or populations of the world. Prime examples are the United Nations Development Programme (including United Nations Volunteers), the United Nations High Commission for Refugees, the United Nations International Children's Fund, and the United Nations Environment Programme. Structural arrangements within these bodies vary but all report to and through ECOSOC.

It is also through ECOSOC that the United Nations maintains its most consistent links with non-governmental organizations (NGO's). NGO's which can demonstrate an on-going interest in any of the areas which fall within the purview of ECOSOC may be granted consultative status in one of three categories. This may, in fact, provide limited access, but it is tangible proof that the United Nations system recognizes that these organizations should have the opportunity to express their views and that they often have special knowledge and experience

of value to the system.

ECOSOC meets at least twice a year. It initiates or makes studies and reports on the topics within its mandate and makes recommendations to the General Assembly, to members of the United Nations and relevant Specialized Agencies. It also prepares draft conventions for submissions to the General Assembly on matters within its competence, and calls international conferences where appropriate.

4. Trusteeship Council

A number of non self-governing territories held under mandate, or detached from previous administering states as a result of World War II, have been overseen by the Trusteeship Council. The Council has supervised the administration of the Trust Territories by a number of administering powers. The major goal was to promote the advancement of the inhabitants towards self-government and/or independence. The Council acted under the authority of the General Assembly except in the case of a "strategic area", in which instance it is under the authority of the Security Council.

In fact, all but one of the eleven Trust Territories have now attained independence, either as a separate state or by joining a neighbouring independent country. Only the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands administered by the United States remains. Deemed a "stragetic area", it falls under the Security Council.

The Council is composed of the United States (as administering State) and the other permanent members of the Security Council. Voting is by a simple majority, with each member having one vote.

5. International Court of Justice (ICJ)

The Court is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It functions in accordance with its own Statute, which is an integral part of the United Nations Charter. The Court is open to all parties to its Statute. All members of the United Nations are automatically such parties. A state which is not a United Nations member may also be a party to the Statute under conditions determined in each case by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Security Council. Three states currently qualify in this latter category—Liechtenstein, San Marino and Switzerland.

The Court consists of 15 judges elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council, voting independently. No two judges can be nationals of the same state. They are chosen on the basis of their qualifications, serve for 9 years and may be reelected, and cannot engage in any other occupation during their term of office. The main forms of civilization and the major legal systems are to be represented in the Court.

The jurisdiction of the Court comprises "all cases which the parties refer to it and all matters specially provided for in the Charter of the United Nations or in treaties and conventions in force".3