Representative voiced particular doubts about the qualifications of Outer Mongolia.

On December 13 the Security Council met to consider this resolution. After the U.S.S.R. had first vetoed a Chinese amendment calling for the addition of the Republic of Korea (South Korea) and the Republic of Vietnam (South Vietnam) to the list of those recommended for admission, the Council proceeded to consider the original resolution. China then vetoed the application of Outer Mongolia, whereupon the U.S.S.R. retaliated by vetoing all 13 non-communist candidates and, as a result, the resolution as a whole was defeated.

The following day, the Security Council re-assembled to consider a Soviet draft resolution recommending the admission of all the applicants on the previous list except Japan and Outer Mongolia. The United States Delegation proposed an amendment adding Japan but this was vetoed by the U.S.S.R. The U.S.S.R. resolution was then voted on and, after each of the 16 applicants had been approved individually, the resolution as a whole was adopted by a vote of 8 in favour, 0 against, with 3 abstentions (Belgium, China and the United States).

At an emergency plenary session on the evening the same day, the Assembly approved by large majorities the recommendations of the Security Council and, as a result, the following states became members of the United Nations: Albania, Jordan, Ireland, Portugal, Hungary, Italy, Austria, Romania, Bulgaria, Finland, Ceylon, Nepal, Libya, Cambodia, Laos and Spain.

## **Chinese Representation**

The issue of Chinese representation has been raised repeatedly at the commencement of meetings of the United Nations and its subsidiary bodies. The substantive question has however never been settled and the incumbent Nationalist Chinese representatives continue to hold their seats. At the ninth and tenth sessions of the General Assembly the issue was raised by the Soviet Representative but on both occasions after a procedural debate, the Assembly followed the same course as at earlier sessions and adopted a United States motion "not to consider during the current year any proposals to exclude representatives of the Republic of China or to seat representatives of the Central People's Government".

At the ninth session the vote on the procedural move for postponement of consideration was 43 in favour (including Canada), 11 against (Burma, Byelorussia, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, India, Norway, Poland, Sweden, Ukraine, U.S.S.R. and Yugoslavia), with 6 abstentions (Afghanistan, Egypt, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, Syria and Yemen). At the tenth session the vote remained the same except that Indonesia changed its vote from abstention to opposition and Israel abstained instead of supporting the resolution. As on previous occasions, in supporting the motion for postponement Canada took cognizance of the fact that a specific time limit had been set which would allow further consideration to be given to the matter later if a change in circumstances warranted it. The substantive question has not arisen in the main United Nations organs and, when it has been raised in subsidiary bodies and the Specialized Agencies, Canadian Delegations have either supported motions of non-competence or opposed motions designed to alter the existing representation of China.