Some difficulty was experienced by the Assembly in choosing two new "non-administering" members for the Trusteeship Council. Their election became necessary to restore the required balance between administering and non-administering members when islands formerly under Japanese mandate came officially under United States trusteeship on April 2, 1947. Up to that date the Trusteeship Council had been composed of five administering and five non-administering members. Thereafter the ratio had been 6 to 4. The Philippines, Norway, Costa Rica and Siam were candidates for election to the two vacant seats. After repeated balloting the Philippines and Costa Rica were declared elected, but this result was not reached until November 13, earlier attempts of each of the candidates to secure a two-thirds majority having failed. The two new members will hold their seats for a three-year period.

The members of the Trusteeship Council as presently constituted are as follows:

control and enstern European figure and indian delegates on the

Administering Trusteeship Territories:

Australia
Belgium
France
New Zealand
United Kingdom
United States

Non-Administering Trusteeship Territories:

China Costa Rica Iraq Mexico Philippines U.S.S.R.