printed ballot, and the vote shall be taken at the business meeting, the twenty nominees receiving the highest number of votes to be declared elected.

7. That only bona fide members of the Association be entitled to vote, and that they shall present their membership cards when returning their ballots.

8. That the "Committee on Resolutions" be appointed at the December meeting of the executive.

9. That steps be taken to have the consti-

tution amended accordingly.

The report was adopted, on motion of Prof. Warren, seconded by Mr. Hearn, with an addition to clause 8 by which a time limit was

set for sending in resolutions to the Committee on Resolutions. The time limit is to be one week before the first day of the Convention.

Mr. Blackwell brought up the case of Mr. Emsall. He was of opinion that the Association should do something to assist Mr. Emsall in his declining years. Mr. Blackwell moved, seconded by Miss LePage, that the executive be asked to devise some plan whereby the teachers might help one who had spent many years in useful work, but whose age and infirmity have compelled him to retire from the active work of the schoolroom. The motion was carried.

The meeting then adjourned.

SECONDARY EDUCATION

1. The General Meeting was held on Wednesday afternoon in the Gymnasium—Mr. J. C. Anderson presiding.

2. Mr. Garratt spoke on "The Rights of Adolescents."

3. Mr. Hodgson reported on "The Junior

High School."

4. Mr. Lang reported for the High School The Committee recommended that the several departments of the Secondary Section be invited to assist in the formation of a series of courses for the High School.

5. The Committee was continued in office, representative from the Intermediate Schools being added, and also a representative from actual teaching force.

6. Reports from sectional meetings were

presented.

7. The resolutions from the Mathematical Department were adopted:

> (a) That sub-examiners receive \$10 a a day.

- (b) That copies of suggested text books he submitted by the Department of Education to the Secretary of the M.T.A. to be placed in the hands of the officers of the various depart-mental sections of the Secondary
- (c) That the resolution relating to the conference between examiners and teachers be passed on without com-
- (d) That a committee be appointed to consider professional training Secondary Cchool Teachers.
- 8. Committees were appointed to give effect to these resolutions.
- 9. The officers were elected as follows: Chairman, Mr. Cumming, Teulon; Secretary, Mr. Geo. Duncan, Teulon.

CLASSICAL SECTION

1. Meeting on the morning of Tuesday, April 22.

2. The programme consisted of a general discussion as to future procedure.

3. Mr. Lang introduced the subject "Relation of Latin to English in High School."

4. Mr. Dobson moved, seconded by Mr. Lang, that the language option be extended to Grade XII. students—the language to take the place of science.

5. Moved by Messrs. Dobson and Pook that a change is desirable in the selections from Caesar and that other selections be made

from Ovid.

6. A committee consisting of Dr. Clark, Mr. Dobson and Miss Brown was asked to decide on the selections.

7. The following officers were elected: Chairman, Dr. Charte Sceretary, Miss L. R. Brown.

SCIENCE SECTION

1. Meeting on Tuesday, April 22, 1919-Mr. Robison in chair.

2. Mr. J. W. Shiple read a paper on "Chemistry in its Relation to Schools."

3. Mr. Hamilton ence an address on "The Scope of the Science Syllabus in Schools."

4. Discussion followed both addresses.

5. The rolls ing officers were elected: Chairman, W. A. Anderson, Virden; Secretary, R. C. Mulliran, Balmoral.

ENGLISH SECTION

. Meeting on morning of Tuesday, April 22-Miss Riddell in chair.

2. Miss Yemen read a paper on "Grade X. Literature."

3. Discussion was participated in by Misses

Ross, Thomson, Balstreet and Mr. Marshall.
4. Mr. Marshall gave a paper on "Business English,"

5. Prof. Aaron J. Perry read a paper on "A Neglected Page of English Grammar."

6. Discussion followed both of these papers. 7. The officers were elected as follows: Chairman, M. McIntosh; Secretary, Miss Garland.