## ST. HILAIRE (BELOEIL) AND ROUGEMONT MOUNTAINS, QUEBEC

## CHAPTER I.

## THE MONTEREGIAN HILLS

## INTRODUCTION.

From Mount Royal at Montreal, a series of eight, isolated hills stands out conspicuously upon the surrounding plain of the St. Lawrence lowlands and extends, with general trend a little south of east, across the Province of Quebec. Six of these hills are spaced at intervals of about 10 miles and occur in the following order from west to east: Mount Royal, Monterville or St. Bruno, St. Hilaire (Beloeil), Rougemont, Yamaska, and Shefford. Nine miles southeast of Rougemont is Mount Johnson, and Brome is situated  $2\frac{1}{2}$  miles south of Shefford. These eight hills form the petrographical province named by Dr. F. D. Adams, the Monteregian Hills.

The investigation, of which this report is the result, was carried on during the summer of 1912 with the object of studying St. Hilaire (Beloeil) and Rougemont mountains and thus completing the detailed study of the petrographical province of the Monteregian Hills. A topographic map recently issued by the Department of Militia and Defenee was used as a base for the geology, and field work was earried on alone, except for temporary assistance in surveying contacts, and in blasting to obtain fresh material. The pace and compass method of surveying was used in locating individual points and this was checked by ancroid determinations; a telemeter was used in surveying contacts.

The author is greatly indebted to Professor L. V. Pi'sson for assistance and criticism in preparing the petrographical section of this report, and to Professor Charles Schuchert for help in working out the stratigraphy; his thanks are also due to Professor Isiah Bowman for criticism of the physiography, and to Professor Joseph Barrell for suggestions bearing on structural geology.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Monteregian Hills: A Canadian Petrographical Province Jour. Geol., Vol. XI, No. 4, April-May, 1903.