• (2152)

Again I say I welcome the heckling and interruptions. It means that at least I have not been putting hon. members to sleep.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre): I am glad to have this opportunity to say that we have no confidence in the government opposite, but we are not going to vote for a motion which would turn the clock back.

Mr. Ron Huntington (Capilano): Mr. Speaker, one member I have enjoyed knowing and from whom I have learned much over the years is the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre (Mr. Knowles).

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Huntington: This man has served this country well in his capacity as a member of parliament. Much social advance has come about under his urging, but in my opinion tonight he distorts and wishes to destroy all the gains which have been made in this country by supporting the degree of waste and abuse of power which is going on under the government opposite.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Deputy Speaker: It being 9.45 p.m., it is my duty, pursuant to Standing Order 58(9), to interrupt the proceedings and forthwith put every question necessary to dispose of the proceeding now before the House.

The question is upon the motion in the name of the Leader of the Opposition (Mr. Clark). Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it. And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Clark) which was negatived on the following division.

The Economy

(Division No. 21)

YFAS Messrs.

Alkenbrack Andre (Calgary Centre) Baker (Grenville-Carleton) Baldwin Balfour Bawden Beatty Brisco Cadieu Caouette (Témiscamingue) Clark (Rocky Mountain) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Coates Crosbie Crouse Darling Ellis Elzinga Epp Forrestall Fraser

Abbott

Allmand

Andras

Andres

Béchard

Benjamin

Boulanger

Bussières

Caccia

Caron

Chrétien

Clermont Collenette

Corriveau

Condon Corbin

Côté

Cyr Danson

Cullen

Daudlin Dawson

De Bané

Demers

Dupont

Dupras

Duquet Ethier

Cafik

Blais

Blaker

Blouin

Breau Ruchanan

(Lincoln)

Grafftey Halliday Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Hamilton (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Hees Hnatyshyn Howie Huntington Kempling Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Laprise La Salle Lawrence MacDonald (Egmont) MacDonald (Miss) (Kingston and the Islands) Malone Matte

McCain McGrath McKenzie McKinnon Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Neil Nielsen Nowlan Paproski Patterson Pigott (Mrs.) Ritchie Schellenberger Schumache Smith (Churchill) Stanfield Stewart (Marquette) Whiteway Whittaker Wise Woolliams Yewchuk-61.

NAYS

Messrs

Faulkner Fleming Flynn (Port Arthur) Francis Gendron Gilbert Gillespie Bégin (Miss) Goodale Gover Grav Guay (St. Boniface) Harquail Herbert Holt (Mrs.) Hopkins Horner Isabelle Campbell (Miss) Kaplan (South Western Nova) Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Lachance Lajoie Lalonde Lamontagne Landers Lang Langlois Laniel Lapointe Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Westmorland-Kent) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Lefebyre Lessard Loiselle (Chambly) Douglas (Bruce-Grey) Loiselle (Saint-Henri) Lumley Macdonald (Rosedale)

MacEachen MacFarland MacGuigan Maine Marceau Marchand Martin McIsaac McRae Milne Munro (Hamilton East) Nicholson (Miss) Nystrom O'Connell Olivier Orlikow Ouellet Parent Pearsall Penner Philbrook Pinard Portelance Poulin Railton Raines Reid Roberts Robinson Rodriguez Rompkey Sauvé (Mrs.) Savard Sharp Stewart (Cochrane) Stollery Symes Trudel Turner Whelan Wood Yanakis Young-117.

2505