Government Orders

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): Call in the members.

[Translation]

Before the taking of the vote:

Mr. Speaker: May I have the attention of the House, please?

There was a problem during Question Period concerning a statement made by the hon. member for Shefford. The hon. member has a long experience in the House of Commons. I have asked him to withdraw his remarks. I think I must ask the hon. member again to withdraw his remarks.

[English]

I would like to ask the hon. member, who, as I mentioned earlier, has seen many years of service in this place, if after some reflection he would be prepared to withdraw the remarks that were made. I would hope that the hon. member could find his way clear to do that. I will hear the hon. member.

[Translation]

Hon. Jean Lapierre (Shefford): You know, Mr. Speaker, in the heat of debate, one can say things that one should not. As I certainly would not want to displease you, I am happy to withdraw what I said.

Mr. Speaker: I thank the hon. member very much. [English]

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 181)

YEAS

Allmand Andre Attewell Bellemare Berger Blackburn (Brant) Blais Boudria Cadieux

Catterall

Members
Anawak
Atkinson
Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre)
Belsher
Bevilacqua
Blackburn (Jonquière)
Blenkarn
Brightwell
Callbeck
Chartrand

Clifford Clark (Brandon-Souris) Cole Collins Comuzzi Cook Crawford Corbett Crosbie (St. John's West) Danis de Cotret Della Noce Desjardins Dingwall Dobbie Domm Dorin Edwards Fee Epp Ferguson Ferland Flis Fontaine Gagliano Foster Gardiner Gauthier Gray (Windsor West) Greene Grey (Beaver River) Guarnieri Guilbault Harb Hawkes Harvard Hockin Hicks Horning Hogue Jelinek Hudon Johnson Joncas Jourdenais Kaplan Karygiannis Kempling Kilger (Stormont - Dundas) Keves Koury

Keyes Kilger (stor Koury Kristiansen Larrivée Layton LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands—Canso) Lee

MacAulay MacDougall (Timiskaming)
MacLaren MacWilliam
Maheu Manley
Marchi Marin
Masse Mayer

McDermid Mazankowski Milliken Merrithew Monteith Mills Nault Moore Nowlan Nicholson Ouellet Nunziata Parent Pagtakhan Peterson Phinney Plourde Prud'homme Redway Reid Richardson Reimer

 Rideout
 Roy-Arcelin

 Saint-Julien
 Scott (Victoria—Haliburton)

 Scott (Hamilton—Wentworth)
 Sobeski

Soetens Sparrow Speller Stevenson Tardif Tétreault Thacker Thompson Thorkelson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Halton-Peel) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Vanclie Valcourt Van De Walle Vankoughnet Vien Weiner White

Whittaker
Wilson (Swift Current—Maple Creek—Assiniboia)
Winegard
Worthy—138

NAYS

Members

Althouse Angus
Black Blaikie
Breaugh Butland
de Jong Duceppe
Edmonston Fisher
Gérin Harvey (
Heap Hovdeb

 Gérin
 Harvey (Edmonton East)

 Heap
 Howdebo

 Karpoff
 Langdon (Essex—Windsor)

 Lapierre
 Leblanc (Longueuil)

 McLaughlin
 Mitchell

Nystrom