Bank. The Canadian Director, Mr. Georges Proulx, is also designated for the following countries: Spain, Yugoslavia, South Korea and Kuwait.

3. President and Managing Director of the Bank and Chairman of the Board of Directors Elected by the Board of Governors for a five-year term, which is renewable. The President manages the Bank's current operations, is responsible for staff organization and is the Bank's legal representative. He is assisted in his duties by four vice-presidents who, with himself, constitute the Bank's management. The vice-presidents are appointed by the Board of Directors.

The Operational Side

The Bank's operations are carried out by 15 departments and services, including the following:

- 1. The Office of the Secretary-General Responsible for executing the decisions of the Board of Governors and the Board of Directors, for organizing the Board's documents, and for legal and protocol questions with the host nation.
- The Offices of the Legal Advisor and Internal Audit Responsible for providing legal services, advice to the Bank management and monitoring of its activities.

3. Planning and Research Department Responsible for carrying out studies, especially on questions of general policy and development of

interest to the Bank's member countries.

4. Country Programs Departments

Two departments, responsible for maintaining close relations with member countries and preparing programs for member countries in the following subregions of Africa:

North Africa:	Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Djibouti, Somalia, Libya, Egypt, Sudan
East Africa:	Burundi, Madagascar, Uganda, Seychelles, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Comoro, Mauritius, Kenya
Southern Africa:	Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia. Swaziland, Zimbabwe, Tanzania