After continued Debate,

The Honorable Mr. Sanborn moved, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Bureau, That the following words be added to the Resolution now under consideration. as an

amendment, by substituting for the eighth Resolution the following:

"Upper Canada to be represented in the Legislative Council by 24 elective Members, and Lower Canada by 24 elective Members, and the Maritime Provinces by 24 Members, corresponding with the 24 elective Members in each section in Canada, of which Nova Scotia shall have ten, New Brunswick ten, and Prince Edward Island shall have four, and the present Members of the Legislative Council of Canada, as well life Members as elective Members, shall be the Members of the first Legislative Council of the Federal Parliament, the appointed Members to remain for life, and the elective Members for eight years from the date of their election, unless removed by death or other cause; their successors to be elected by the same Divisions and Electors as have elected them; and it shall be permitted to the Maritime Provinces to appoint ten additional Members for life: four for New Brunswick, four for Nova Scotia, and two for Prince Edward Island, to correspond with the present life Members from Canada, and that after the first appointment of Members in the Maritime Provinces, no new appointment shall be made, except to supply the places of vacancies by death or otherwise in the twenty-four Members appointed to correspond with the elective Members from the two sections of Canada."

And that in the eleventh Section, after the word "Council," in the first line, the fol-

lowing words be added: "in the Maritime Provinces."

And that Section fourteen be struck out.

After Debate.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Ross, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Ryan, it was

Ordered, That further Debate on the said motion be postponed until to-morrow.

Then, on motion of the Honorable Mr. Hamilton (Kingston), seconded by the Honorable Mr. Bull,

The House adjourned.

Friday, 10th February, 1865.

The Members convened were:-

The Honorable Ulric Joseph Tessier, Speaker.

The Honorable Messieurs

Aikins,	Chaffers,	Hamilton (Inkerman)	Perry,
Alexander,	Christie,	Hamilton (Kingston),	
Allan,	Cormier,	Lacoste,	Proulx,
Archambault,	Crawford,	Leonard,	Prud'homme,
Armand,	Currie,	Leslie,	Read,
Armstrong,	De Beaujeu,	Letellier de St. Just,	Reesor,
Belleau, Sir N. F.,	Dickson,	Mc Crea,	Ross,
Bennett,	Duchesnay, A. J.,	McDonald,	Ryan,
Blair, Fergusson,	Duchesnay, E. H. J.,	McMaster,	Sanborn,
Blake,	Dumouchel,	Macpherson,	Seymour,
Bossé,	Ferrier,	Matheson,	Shaw,
Boulton,	Flint,	Mills,	Simpson,
Bull,	Foster,	Moore,	Skead,
Burnham,	Gingras,	Olivier,	Taché, Sir E. P.,
Campbell,	Guévremont,	Panet,	Vidal.