In 1854 was published the "Revised Statutes" of the Province in which the act describing the County and Parish boundaries not only codified all earlier boundaries but as well made considerable changes in those boundaries. The edition of the consolidated Statutes of 1877 appears not to have introduced any material changes, but in 1896 was passed a special Act which both codified all earlier boundaries, and considerably changed many of them. The codifications, when made, are adopted by the Legislature and become law, superseding all earlier enactments.

These codifications, while valuable historically as showing the condition of the boundaries at different periods, do not allow the history of the changes to be followed in detail, since they do not state in what year or in what order changes in the lines were made, and for these one must turn to the yearly volumes of Acts of the Legislature. The county charters or warrants of the original counties are preserved in the office of the Provincial Secretary at Fredericton, and so far as I know, only two of them have been published, that for Sunbury in the appendix to the volume above mentioned, and that for Charlotte in the Courier Series of Historical Articles. All of the later counties were erected by Acts of the Assembly. In the following synopsis I have adopted the modern spelling for proper names. The older forms, together with the origin of the county names, may be found discussed in the earlier monograph on place-nomenclature.

St. John. Erected May 18, 1785, the first county of the province, to include the Bay of Fundy settlements from Lepreau to near Cape Enrage, with St. John as shire town in its centre. South, by the Bay of Fundy, as at present. East, by Hopewell Township, and a line due north from its north-west corner; the latter line was needless (and I do not know why it was thought necessary), and the former was abandoned for the present line in 1837 (run 1836). North, by a line east north-east and west south-west through the southernmost point of Kennebecasis Island, the present line (run 1833, 1841); chosen, no doubt, to run parallel with the Bay of Fundy, and (as shown by Map No. 34), to interfere as little as possible with lands granted. West, by a due north line, the present line (run 1838), from Point Lepreau a very natural starting point for such a boundary.

Westmorland. Erected 1785, the second county, to include the settlements and rivers at the head of the Bay of Fundy, with Westmorland as the shire town, changed to the more central Dorchester in 1801. East, by Gulf of St. Lawrence and Nova Scotia, as at present. North, by a due west line from the northernmost end of Shediac Island, the present line (run 1841), though it has varied in length.