CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS.

House of Refuge, Cherry street, foot of the mountain—Under the patronage of the city council.

Boys' Home, Stinson Street-Mrs. Catharine Cameron, matron.

St. Mary's Orphan Asylum, Park street—Under the supervision of the Sisters of St. Joseph.

Hamilton Orphan Asylum and Ladies' Benevolent Society, Wellington street south—Samuel Wilson, supt.

Home of the Friendless, Caroline street south-Mrs. McFarlane, matron.

Children's Industrial School—Incorporated by act of parliament. Miss Annie Raynor, matron.

St. Vincent's Home for Invalids-Under the patronage of the St. Vincent de Paul Society.

Ladies' Benevolent Society, Roman Catholic-Mrs. Egan, president; Miss Harris, secretary; Miss Ronan, treas.

NATIONAL AND BENEVOLENT INSTITUTIONS.

St. George's Society—A. J. Green, president; W. J. Ballard, 1st vicepresident; Albert Pain, 2nd vice president; A. Bowditch, secretary; R. Brierley, treasurer.

^r St. Andrew's Society — Instituted, Dec. 29, 1835. A. Macallum, M. A.: LL. B., president; James Angus, sen., 1st vice-president; A. F. Forbes, 2nd vice-president; A. A. Wylie, treasurer; John Greig, secretary; Hevs. John James, D. D., and D. H. Fletcher, chaplains; Drs. McDonald and Malloch, physicians. Charitable Committee — Hon. Arch. McKellar, George Mackay, W. Ogilvie and T. Copland.

Caledonian Society.—Patron, Hon. Isaac Buchanan; chief, Robert Service; 1st chieftain, Robert Chisholm; 2nd, W. G. Reid; 3rd, Wm. Bruce; 4th, D. Robertson; J. F. McClure, treasurer; James Shearer, sec. Irish Protestant Benevolent Society —Established 1869—Officers, 1878: John White, jr. M. A., president; H. A. Eager, R. Coulter, H. Burrows, vicepresidents; A. L. Reeves, secretary; F. Kittyle, assist. secretary; Charles Beatty, treasurer. Meets Ind Tueadag in January, April, July and October, at the Young Men's Christian Association Rooms, King street East.

St. Patrick's Literary and Benevolent Society-Stephen Cleary, president; Patrick Merin, recording secretary; Michael Murphy, treasurer. Meets on first Thursday of every month, at St. Patrick's hall.

Emerald Beneficial Association, Sarsfield Branch No. 1, Ont.—John Brick, president; Dan. Kelly, vice-president; P. J. Culhane, secretary; D. Olmand, assistant secretary; Daniel McBride, treasurer. Stated meetings, first and third Tuesdays of each month.

St. Vincent de Paul Society—J Quin, president; M. J. Forster, secretary; J. McCarthy, treasurer.

MILITARY.

THIBTEENTH BATTALION -- Commanding officer, Lieut. Col. J. A. Skinner; Major, Lieut. Col. H. E. Irving; Adjutant, Capt. Jos. Macready; Surgeon, Isaac Ryall, M. D.; Paymaster, Capt. Charles Armstrong; Quartermaster, Capt. J. J. Mason.

No. 1 Co.—J. M. Gibson, Captain. No. 2 Co.—P. B. Barnard, Captain; John F. Monck, Ensign.

No. 3 Co.-Robert Crockett, Lieutenant; H. B. Ridout, Ensign.

No. 4 Co.—Henry McLaren, Captain; John Stoneman, Lieutenant.

No. 5 Co.-Edw. F. Caddy, Captain; Thos. K. McKeand, Lieutenant.

No. 6 Co.—A. H. Moore, Captain; Alfred McKeand, Lieutenant; John J. Stuart, Ensign.

TEMPERANCE SOCIETIES.

Hamilton Temperance Reform Club -D. B. Chisholm, presidenti; J. C. McKeand, John Hyde, Alex. K. Renwick, vice-presidents; Wm. Fratchett, hon. sec.; Wm. Givin, treasurer; rev. J. Lanton, chaplain. Meetings at the Forresters' hall, every Saturday at 8 p. m. Public meetings at the Me.