for the Counties of Joliette and Berthier, withdrawn from the Inspection District of A. D. Dorval, Esquire, minus however the municipalities of Lanoraie and Lavaltrie which will continue to form part of said last mentioned district :

Edouard Savard, Esquire, to be School Inspector for the County of Chicoutimi, vice M. V. Martin, Esquire, deceased:—
Antoine Pilon, Esquire, Advocate, to be School Inspector for the Counties of Laval, Terrebonne, Two Mountains, and part of the County of Argenteuil, vice Cesaire Germain, Esquire, deceased:

The Lieutenant Governor by Order in Council of the 16th June last, has been pleased to make the following appointments of School Commissioners

City of Montreal, Catholics-P.S. Murphy, Esquire City of Montreal, Protestants—Revd Chas. Bancroft; And by Order in Council of the 17th June last:

City of Montreal, Catholic Board-Alderic Ouimet, Esq., M. P., vice Honorable Louis Bélanger;
City of Quebec, Catholic Board—Revd. Joseph Auclair,

continued in office; City of Quebec, Protestant Board - Wm. Walker, Esquire,

continued in Office;
And by Order in Council of the 27th May last:

In virtue of 48th Clause of Chap. 15 of the Consolidated

Statutes of ower Canada;
For the County of Lotbinière, St. Narcisse de Beaurivage—
Mr. Etienne Marcoux, vice Mr. Xavier Demers;
For the County of Portneuf, St. Catherine—Mr. Augustin Cantin, vice Mr. Antoine Blondeau.

BOARD OF EXAMINERS.

The Lieutenant Governor by Order in Council of the 27th May last, has been pleased to name Edouard Réné Darche, Esq., M D., member of the Board of Examiners for the Counties of Richmond, Drummond, and Wolfe, for the examination of candidate for élementary school diplomas, vice J. T. Béique, Esq.,

In virtue of the powers conferred on him by Section 103 Cap. 15 C. S. L. C. the Lieutenant Governor has been pleased to appoint the following named gentlemen members of the Protestant Board of rxaminers at Montreal, for the examination of Candi-

dates for elementary school diplomas, namely:
The Revd, M. Thornton, In. A., vice T. A. Gibson, Esquire;
The Revd. J. Labley, vice the Revd. Wm. Bond, L. L. D., resigned.

SCHOOL MUNICIPALITIES.

The Lieutenant Governor by Order in Council of the 17th June last, has been pleased to direct :-

lo. That the Village of Waterloo be separated from the Township of Shefford, Co. of Shefford, and be erected into a separate school municipality, with the same limits as for civil purposes.

20. That the new parish of St. Vincent, Co. of Missisquoi, be erected into a separate school municipality, with the same limits assigned by Proclamation of the Lieutenant Governor, dated 7th February last.

30. That the new parish of St. Pamphyle be separated from the municipality of St. Perpétue, Co. L'Islet, from which it is already separated for religious purposes, and be erected into a separate school municipality with its present limits as a parish.

And by Order in Council of the 10 July last, the Lieutenant Governor has pleased to direct:

That the township of Hampden, Co. of Compton, be separated from that of Whitton, in the same County, as it is now separated forparish purposes, and that it be erected into a separate school municipality with its actual limits as a Township:

And by Order in Council of the 27th May last, and in virtue

of the powers conferred on him by Section 30 of Cap 15 C. S. L. C., the Lieutenant Governor has been pleased to direct that the Township of Clifton, Co of Compton, be divided for school purposes as it is now divided for municipal purposes.

DIPLOMAS GRANTED BY THE LAVAL NORMAL SCHOOL.

MALE TEACHERS.

FOR ACADEMIES-MM. Louis-Napoléon Dufresne, Louis-Thomas-Tancrède Dubé; Joseph-Edouard Savard and Georges Gagnon.

FOR MODEL SCHOOLS-MM. David-Odilon Dufresne, Elzéar Boivin, Michel-Edmond Turgeon, Pierre Dutil, Olivier-Emile Plante, Gilbert

Sirois, Napoléon-Victor Leclerc, Louis-Abdon Guay, Télesphore Dick

and Joseph-Alphonse Belleau.
For Elementary Schools—MM. Pierre-Calixte Gosselin, Alfred Bergeron, Joseph-Edouard Lévèque, Pierre Beaupré, François Gravel, Joseph-Télesphore Germain, Lucien-Philéas Lachance, Albert Arsenault, Joseph-Clovis Pagé, Calixte Dick and Ambroise Alphonse Godbout.

Female Teachers.

For Model Schools—Misses Fridoline Létourneau, Caroline Couillard, Emma Chaperon-Young, Caroline Lévèque, Cécile Alvine Rousseau, Lætitia Rousseau, Amanda Tanguay, M. Thivierge, Dorilda Marquis, Aurélie Sirois, Clara Joséphine Lévêque, Eléonore Chabot, Des-Anges Paré, Célina Talbot, Esther Cloutier, Anne Scholastique Larue, Célina Gingras, Marguerite O'Reilly, M. Euphémie Morisset, Alida DeGuise, Symphorose Bernier, Julie Heriette Crôteau, Joséphine Pérusse, M. Mercier, Philomène Hélène Béchard and Exilda Barbeau Barbeau.

For ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS—Misses Malvina Dussault, Thaïs Gagné, Virginie Naud, Anna Ratté, Adélaïde Voyer, Florida Chassé, Anne Philomène Mercier, Célestine Pilote, Malvina Doré, Madame Isaïe Lajeunesse, Aurélie Marceau, Emma Blais, Hélène Ernestine Beaulieu, Joséphine Héloïse Alphonsine Rousseau, Philomène Pelisson, Ellan Phalin, Thaïs Dulaire Remier Aprèle Lagrage Philomène Constitution de la constant de la c Ellen Phelin, Thaïs Dulcine Bernier, Angèle Lacasse, Philomène Gravel and Margaret Jane Milne.

Prince of Wales Prize—Miss Fridoline Létourneau.

DIPLOMAS GRANTED BY THE McGILL NORMAL SCHOOL.

For Academies-Lucinda Lawless, Susan Rodger, Robert Varner

Charles McCorkill, and Zadoc Lefebyre.
For Model Schools—Anne McFee, Mary A. Baillie, Catherine McFee, Jane Reason, Sarah Hurst, Jessie Rodger, Alice M. Christie, Abner Kneeland, Louisa Vessot, Mary Fergusson, Jeremiah Elliot, Florence Hilton, Andrew Stewart, Edouard Cornie, Alexander Scott, Jane Campbell, Elliott Henderson, Mary McLean, Sarah Nightingale, Kate A. Graham, Mary C. Brown, Amelia Groome, Jane McNab, Elizabeth Fraser, Marguerita Lucas, Callista Burnham.

Elizabeth Fraser, Marguerita Lucas, Callista Burnham.

For Elementary Schools—Georgiana Hunter, Martha Warcup, Marguerita Francis, Grace Hendrie, Fanny Edwards, Beatrice D. Graham, Louisa Woods, Blanche Smith, Lydia Tees, Mary N. Stewart, Selina J. Robinson, Mary A. Dawson, Margaret Maguire, Alice O. Chapman, Emily Sutton, Margaret Williams, Elizabeth McNab, Lizzie Barrett, Daisy Richardson, Mary Marshal, Isabella Woods, Agnes Smith, Mary H. Sutherland, Elizabeth Ballantyne, Mary E. Scroggie, Henrietta Douglas, Harriet Hodge, Charlotte V. Currie, Fanny L. Ewing, Agnes Forgrave, Jeanie Condie, Alma Taylor, Jessie W. Neill, Hannah J. Kendall, Elizabeth Brethour, Annie Thompson, Sarah E. McCombe, Philias A. Blouin, Elizabeth A. Loring. Sarah E. McCombe, Philias A. Blouin, Elizabeth A. Loring.

PRINCE OF WALES PRIZE-Anne McFee, Mary A. Baillie.

THE JOURNAL OF EDUCATION.

QUEBEC, AUGUST, 1874.

Education in Lower Canada.

We give below the speech delivered on the above subject, by the Honourable Mr. Chauveau, late Premier and Minister of Public Instruction of this Province, before the Convention held in Montreal, during the celebration of the St. Jean Baptiste festival in June last. It will, we are sure, be read with interest and mu h profit by our readers, as it gives a complete history of education in this Province from the earliest days of the colony, and shows the struggles and exertions of the men who worked so earnestly to endow their country with a system of education, of which we now have just reason to be proud. Mr. Chauveau's qualifications to speak upon such a subject are two well known and appreciated, for us to add a word more.

We borrow the following translation from the Montreal

MR. PRESIDENT AND GENTLEMEN,-

In placing education among the subjects with which it is