In 1895 came the Diocese of Western China, which the Church owes to the China Inland Mission, for the first Bishop, the Rev. W. W. Cassels, is a missionary of that Society. The Diocese is a very extensive one, and the Church Missionary Society and China Inland Mission both have missions of the Anglican Church at work in the Diocese.

In 1901 the Bishopric of Hankow was founded by the American Church, and includes the Province of Hupeh and part of Hunan.

In 1903 the Province of Shantung, cut off from the North China jurisdiction, was established into a diocese, and a Bishop appointed over it.

In 1906 the Diocese of Fuhkien, formerly under the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Victoria, was established; and in 1909 another Diocese, that of Kuangsi-Hunan, was also taken out of the Diocese of Victoria.

In 1909 the Canadian Church decided to be responsible for a Missionary Diocese in China, and Honan was separated from North China, and a Canadian Bishop consecrated for that jurisdict on.

Hitherto all British Bishops in non-British lands had been commissioned by the Archbishop of Canterbury, but this was a departure from precedent, for the Bishop of Honan was consecrated and sent forth by the Church in Canada, and owes allegiance to the Primate of all Canada.

The youngest of the Dioceses in China, formerly called Wuhu, but now renamed Anking, was established in 1910, and is supported by the American Church.

Besides the above eleven Bishoprics, an assistant Bishopric has been appointed in connection with the Diocese of Chekiang, and the first Anglican Chinese Bishop consecrated in the person of Shen Tsai-Sheng. Bishop Shen, or Sing, as he is called in his home dialect, was consecrated in the Church of Our Saviour, Shanghai, on October 2nd, 1918. The American Bishop of Shanghai, as Presiding Bishop of the Church in China, was the responsible consecrating Bishop, and he associated with him as official