In attendance: Messrs. B. G. Sivertz, Assistant Deputy Minister of Northern Affairs, Wilfrid Brown, Deputy Commissioner, and the four elected Members of the Territorial Council of the Northwest Territories, Knut Lang, E. J. Gall, P. W. Kaeser and John Goodall.

The Clerk of the Committee read the Orders of Reference.

Mr. Knut Lang was invited by the Chairman to read his brief. The examination of two witnesses, namely Messrs. K. Lang and E. J. Gall ensued.

Mr. Grégoire, seconded by Mr. Fleming (Okanagan-Revelstoke) moved that the Ministers of Natural Resources of both the Provinces of Quebec and Ontario be invited to appear before this Committee in order to express their opinions on the limits of the boundaries of their respective Province in relation to those of the Northwest Territories.

In amendment thereto, Mr. Nielsen moved, seconded by Mr. Rhéaume, that the Minister of Northern Affairs of Canada be also invited to appear before this Committee in order that a Federal point of view of the question be also heard.

By unanimous consent, the Committee agreed to let that motion and its amendment stand until the examination of the witnesses is completed.

Mr. Nielsen moved, seconded by Mr. Rhéaume, that the usual expenses be paid to the four Members of the Territorial Council of the Northwest Territories, as from November 25 and during the time they are required to appear before the Committee.

Thereupon, the Chairman asked both the mover and the seconder to let their motion stand until next meeting in order that he be given time to inquire on the legality of such a motion which, prima facie, seems to be contrary to the procedure in such instances.

The Chairman's request was agreed to.

And the examination of the witnesses continuing, at 6:20 o'clock p.m. Mr. Nielsen moved, seconded by Mr. Rhéaume, that the Committee adjourn until tomorrow at 9:00 o'clock a.m.

WEDNESDAY, November 27, 1963. (3)

The Standing Committee on Mines, Forests and Waters met at 9:20 o'clock a.m., this day. The Chairman, Mr. Osias Godin, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Cadieu (Meadow Lake), Cyr, Deachman, Doucett, Fleming (Okanagan-Revelstoke), Godin, Granger, Gray, Habel, Leduc, Mitchell, Moreau, Nielsen, Rhéaume, Turner, Watson (Châteauguay-Huntingdon-Laprairie).—(16).

In attendance: Messrs. B. G. Sivertz, Assistant Deputy Minister of Northern Affairs, Wilfrid Brown, Deputy Commissioner, and the four elected Members of the Territorial Council of the Northwest Territories, Knut Lang, E. J. Gall, P. W. Kaeser and John Goodall.

Before resuming the examination of the witnesses, the Chairman ruled as acceptable the motion presented at yesterday's meeting pertaining to the payment of the expenses incurred by the witnesses appearing before this Committee.

The Chairman suggested though, that the motion, in order to be more appropriate and usual, should read as follows:

Moved by Mr. Nielsen, seconded by Mr. Rhéaume,

That the usual living expenses be paid to the four members of the Territorial Council of the Northwest Territories from November 25th and during the time they are required to appear before the Committee.