

## DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

## communiqué

No:

102

DIFFUSION: RELEASE:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DECEMBER 13, 1979

## JOINT STATEMENT BY THE NATO COUNTRIES ON IRAN

The Foreign Ministers and representativies of Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America meeting in Brussels on the 13th of December, 1979, reviewed the grave situation created by the occupation of the Embassy of the United States of America in Tehran and the holding of members of its staff as hostages in flagrant violation of international law and human rights.

They reaffirmed that their countries fully respect the independence of other states and recognize the right of all peoples to chart their own political, economic and social course. They have no desire to intervene in Iran's internal affairs.

They emphasized that any taking of hostages, for any motive whatsoever, is totally unacceptable and must be firmly opposed by the international community as a whole.

The governments of the above-mentioned countries urgently call upon the Iranian authorities immediately to release unharmed all the United States' Embassy staff members in Tehran and to allow them to return to their country.