9-10 EDWARD VII., A. 1910

that allowed to Canada is not to exceed in the aggregate a daily diversion at the rate o 36,000 cubic feet per second.

It is agreed that the St. Mary and Milk rivers, and their tributaries (in the State of Montana and the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan) shall be treated as a single stream for purposes of irrigation and power, and their waters shall be equally apportioned between the two countries.

An International Joint Commission is constituted to consist of six Commissioners, three appointed by the United States and three by Canada, which is to have jurisdiction over and to pass upon cases involving the obstruction or diversion of boundary waters.

It is further provided that other questions and matters of difference arising between the two countries involving the rights, obligations or interests of either in relation to the other or to the inhabitants of the other along the common frontier shall be referred to the Commission for examination and report, and that any questions or matters of difference arising, involving the rights, obligations or interests of either country in relation to the other or their respective inhabitants may be referred for decision to the same tribunal.

TREATY FOR PRESERVATION OF FISHERIES IN INTERNATIONAL BOUNDARY WATERS OF APRIL 11, 1908.

Under the authority conferred by this Treaty, Joint Regulations were drawn up by Professor E. E. Prince and Professor D. S. Jordan, the International Fisheries Commissioners, and were simultaneously laid before the Canadian Parliament and the United States Congress on February 4, 1910.

NORTH ATLANTIC COAST FISHERIES ARBITRATION.

Under the General Convention of Arbitration between Great Britain and the United States of April 4th, 1908, a Special Agreement was signed on January 27, 1909, arranging for the reference to arbitration of the long-standing questions of difference in regard to the interpretation of the provisions of the Convention of 1818 relative to the North Atlantic Coast Fisheries.

The Arbitration Tribunal chosen by mutual agreement from among the members of the Permanent Court at the Hague consists of Dr. Heinrich Lammasch, President, His Excellency Luis M. Drago, Jonkheer A. F. de Savornin Lohman, the Honourable George Gray and the Right Honourable Sir Charles Fitzpatrick. The Honourable A. B. Aylesworth was appointed British Agent, and Mr. Chandler Anderson, Agent of the United States.

The pleadings were duly exchanged between the two parties as provided by the agreement and the oral argument began at the Hague on June 1.

DELIMITATION OF BOUNDARY IN PASSAMAQUODDY BAY.

The provision made in the Demarcation of Boundaries Treaty with the United States, of 1908, for the delimitation of two portions of the International Boundary in Passamaquoddy Bay by mutual agreement having expired before such agreement was reached, it became necessary, in order to give effect to a compromise arranged between the two Governments by which Pope's Folly Island was relinquished to the United States and Canada retained the Upper Middle Grounds, to conclude a new treaty. Such a treaty fixing the boundary in accordance with a description settled by the British and United States Boundary Commissioners so as to carry out the compromise was signed on May 21, 1910.

DEMARCATION OF BOUNDARIES.

Further progress was made during the season of 1909 under the Alaska Boundary Convention of 1906, in the survey and demarcation of the 141st meridian of west longitude