Smith, the Schuylers, John Haviland, Archibald McCool, T. Boughner, Dr. D. Duncombe, the McMichael's, Samuel Fisher and a large family of the Barber's.

The first Council of the Township of Townsend was elected in 1850 and was composed of the following gentlemen: Reeve—
Thos. W. Clark: Deputy-Reeve—Oliver Blake: Councillors—Joseph Johnson, Robert Lanning and Moses Austin. Other officers were as follows:—Clerk—Hiram Scovel: Treasurer—Dr. J. Walrath: Assessors—Henry J. Barber, Henry Beemer and Jason Kellum: Auditors—James L. Green and Duncan McPherson; Collector—James Kellum.

The Reeves of Townsend have been as follows:—Thos. W. Clark 1850-51, Oliver Blake 1852, Wm. Walker 1853, Oliver Blake 1854-55-36-57, John Barber 1858-55-60, Robt. Young 1861, John Barber 1802-33-64-65, Thos. W. Clark 1867-68-69-70-71, James L. Green 1872, John Challen 1873-74, H. J. Barber from 1875 to 1885, W. W. Pegg 1868-87-88-89, I. G. Wyckoff 1890-91-92-93, L. Kellum 1804-95-96-97-98-90, John R. Taylor 1990-01-02, Wm. Woodley 1903-04, A. R. Ewing 1905-96.

