The plan was simple. The whole province was divided into eight counties. The settled portions were Sunbury on the St. John, Westmorland west of Nova Scotia, and St. John, the landing-place of the Loyalists (1783). The new counties were set off and Sunbury was the residue. Some of the boundaries were defined with reference to townships, e.g., St. John began from Hopewell township, York from Maugerville. Queens from Burton. The counties again were divided into "towns or parishes." The term "parish" rapidly supplanted that of "township." The "township" may be traced to Massachusetts, the "parish" to New York and Virginia. In England the parish was of course originally an exclesiastical division, the township a civil.

The blending of the ecclesiastical and the civil appears as late as 1790 in New Brunswick. Governor Carleton in a letter (dated Aug. 20th, 1790) to the Secretary of State says of the provision made for education and religion: "There are now six ministers of the Churca of England, having salaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, in addition to £100 allotted to each by an annual grant of Parliament, the glebe lands still being unproductive. The province has been divided into eight counties with thirty-nine parishes, all of which, however, do not require a permanent minister at present."

It is worth, noting that in New Brunswick the county is subdivided, and that in Nova Scotia the county is apparently a group of lownships or settlements, as Mr. McEvoy states to be the case in Ontario.³ This difference had important consequences. It gave the township an independence in the public mind not possessed by a mere subdivision of the county (the parish). This is seen in the town meetings which were a feature of the Nova Scotia townships and electoral divisions down to 1879, although temporarily suppressed in 1770, as already remarked, through fear of revolution. This feature survived in the charters granted to such towns as Dar mouth (1873), Pictou (1873), New Glasgow (1875), which required an annual meeting of the ratepayers to receive the reports of the

¹ Can. Archives, 1905, N.B. State Papers.

² McEvoy, The Ontario Townsh., p. 11.