4. Special Bodies of the Principal Organs

- i. United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (1946) Executive Board: Mrs. D. B. Sinclair, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister of Welfare, Department of National Health and Welfare.
- ii. Permanent Central Opium Board (Supervisory Body). Col. C. H. L. Sharman c/o Department of National Health and Welfare.
- iii. United Nations Korean Reconstruction Agency Advisory Committee (1950). Delegate: D. M. Johnson, Permanent Delegate of Canada to the United Nations, New York; Alternate: W. M. Olivier, Permanent Delegation

of Canada to the United Nations, New York.

8.

9.

2.

3

- 5. Headquarters Advisory Committee. C.D. Howe, Minister of Trade and Commerce and Defence Production; Alternate: K. A. Greene, Canadian Consul General, New York.
- 6. International Court of Justice. (The parties of the Statutes of the Court automatically include all members of the United Nations. The Court consists of fifteen judges, in no way representatives of their country of origin, elected for a nine year term of office by the General Assembly and the Security Council voting independently. A Canadian citizen, John Erskine Reid, presently sits on the Court, his term of office due to expire in 1958).

6. UNITED NATIONS SPECIALIZED AGENCIES

- 1. International Labour Organization (1919)*
 - i. General Conference. (Canada sends delegations comprising two Government Members and one Member each representing management and labour together with their advisers to each session of the Conference which meets at least annually. Delegations to the conferences are not permanent and are appointed for each session).
 - ii. Governing Body. Dr. A. MacNamara, Deputy Minister of Labour. (Canada holds a seat as one of the States of chief industrial importance).
- 2. Food and Agriculture Organization (1945)
 - i. Conference. (Canada, as a member of FAO sends a representative, together with his alternate and advisers to each session of the Conference which meets bi-annually. Canada's representative is not permanent and is appointed by the Government for each session).
 - ii. Council. (Also known as World Food Council) (Canada has always been a member and was re-elected at the 1951 Rome Conference for a further term of membership).
- 3. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (1946)
 - i. General Conference. (Canada sends delegates to each session of the General Conference. Delegations comprising delegates, alternates and advisers are not permanent and are appointed by the Government for each successive session).

- 4. International Civil Aviation Organization (1947)*
 - i. Assembly. Brig. C. S. Booth, Permanent Delegate of Canada to ICAO; H. A. Pattison, Deputy Delegate.
 - ii. Council. Brig. C.S. Booth, Permanent Delegate of Canada to ICAO
- 5. International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (1946).
 - i. Board of Governors. Covernor: D. C. Abbott, Minister of Finance; Alternate: J. J. Deutsch, Department of Finance.
 - ii. Executive Directors: Director: L. Rasminsky, Bank of Canada.

6. International Monetary Fund (1945)

- i. Board of Governors: Governor: D. C. Abbott, Minister of Finance; Alternate: G. F. Towers, Governor of the Bank of Canada.
- ii. Executive Directors: Director: L. Rasminsky, Bank of Canada.
- 7. Universal Postal Union (1875)
 - i. Universal Postal Congress. (Canada, as a member of the UPU, is represented at each meeting of the Congress, usually held at intervals of five years. Canadian Delegations are appointed by the Government for each meeting. The next (14th) Congress of the UPU will be held in Ottawa in 1957).

* The Specialized Agencies marked with an asterisk set up from time to time, through their main organs, standing bodies, committees or commissions, in which Canada may or may not be invited to participate. Because of the large number of such bodies, committees or commissions to which Canada is a party, and their relative importance, it has been felt that they might be excluded from this list.

External Affairs