PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE

The Honourable Senators Beaubien (Bedford), Boucher, *Brooks, Burchill, Choquette, Connolly (Halifax North), *Connolly (Ottawa West), Denis, Dupuis, Farris, Fergusson, Fournier (Madawaska-Restigouche), Gershaw, Gladstone, Gouin, Haig, Inman, Irvine, Jodoin, Kinley, Macdonald (Brantford), MacDonald (Queens), McGrand, Monette, O'Leary (Antigonish-Guysborough), Phillips, Quart, Roebuck, Smith (Queens-Shelburne), Sullivan, Thorvaldson, Veniot, Welch and Woodrow. (32).

*Ex officio member.

CIVIL SERVICE ADMINISTRATION

The Honourable Senators Belisle, Bishop, Blois, Bourque, *Brooks, Cameron, Choquette, *Connolly (Ottawa West), Davies, Dessureault, Dupuis, Fergusson, Gouin, Grosart, Inman, Irvine, Kinley, Macdonald (Brantford), O'Leary (Antigonish-Guysborough), O'Leary (Carleton), Quart, Roebuck, Taylor and White. (22).

*Ex officio member.

PUBLIC BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS

The Honourable Senators Aseltine, *Brooks, Choquette, *Connolly (Ottawa West), Dessureault, Irvine, Macdonald (Brantford), MacDonald (Queens), McGrand, Paterson, Pouliot, Thorvaldson and Walker. (11).

*Ex officio member.

All which is respectfully submitted.

A. L. BEAUBIEN, Chairman.

The Honourable Senator Beaubien (*Provencher*) moved, seconded by the Honourable Senator Macdonald (*Cape Breton*), that the Report be taken into consideration at the next sitting of the Senate.

The question being put on the motion, it was—Resolved in the affirmative.

With leave of the Senate,

The Honourable Senator Bouffard, moved, seconded by the Honourable Senator Croll:

That a Special Committee of the Senate be appointed to examine the problem involved in the promotion of the welfare of the aged and aging persons, in order to ensure that in addition to the provision of a sufficient income, there are also developed adequate services and facilities of a positive and preventive kind so that older persons may continue to live healthy and useful lives as members of the Canadian community and the need for the maximum co-operation of all levels of government in the promotion thereof;

That the said Committee be composed of the Honourable Senators Blois, Brooks, Croll, Dessureault, Fergusson, Gershaw, Grosart, Haig, Hollett, Inman, Jodoin, Lefrancois, Macdonald (*Brantford*), McGrand, Pearson, Quart, Roebuck, Smith (*Queens-Shelburne*) and Sullivan.

That the Committee have power to engage the services of technical, clerical and other personnel as may be necessary for the purpose of the inquiry;